CD Impulsive! Revolutionary Jazz Reworked [Various Artists] (CD 868008),
back to browsing

Impulsive! Revolutionary Jazz Reworked [Various Artists]

  • 1. Helluva Town, A - George Russell (Sa-Ra Go remix)
    2. II B.S. - Charles Mingus (RZA's Mingus Bounce mix)
    3. El Toro - Chico Hamilton (Mark De Clive-Lowe remix)
    4. Mizrab - Gabor Szabo (Prefuse 73 remix)
    5. Swing Low, Sweet Cadillac - Dizzy Gillespie (Gerardo Frisina remix)
    6. Spanish Rice - Clark Terry/Chico O'Farrill (DJ Dolores remix)
    7. Attica Blues - Archie Shepp (The Chief Xcel remix)
    8. Astral Traveling - Pharoah Sanders (Boozoo Bajou remix)
    9. Bamboo Flute Blues - Yusef Lateef (Kid Koala remix)
    10. Stolen Moments - Oliver Nelson (Teflon Tel-Aviv remix)
    11. At Night - John Coltrane/Ravi Coltrane/Julie Patton (Poem)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0004966

  • Credits
    ProducerDahlia Ambach Caplin (Compilation); Jonathan Rudnick (Compilation)

    The remix phenomenon continues apace with this fine set of Impulse classics reworked by some of the more respectable electronica artists of the 2000s. With a collection of source material that includes George Russell, Charles Mingus, Pharoah Sanders, and John Coltrane, among others, the set is already moving in the right direction, but the inventive, sometimes radical reworkings by the likes of Prefuse 73, the RZA, Kid Koala, and Sa Ra put this a cut above your average pedestrian, lounge-vibed, electronica/jazz outing.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.83
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for