CD The Carthy Chronicles: A Journey Through the Folk Revival [Long Box] (CD 126476),
back to browsing

The Carthy Chronicles: A Journey Through the Folk Revival [Long Box]

    1. Scarborough Fair
    2. Byker Hill
    3. Cold Haily Windy Night
    4. Skewbald
    5. Creeping Jane
    6. Old Horse
    7. Question of Sport, A
    8. Lovely Joan
    9. Maid and the Palmer, The
    10. Begging Song
    11. I Was a Young Man
    12. Prince Heathen
    13. Prickle Holly Bush
    14. Lord Franklin
    15. Lemady / Arise And Pick A Posy
    16. Famous Flower of Serving Men
    17. Glorishears
    1. New St. George, The
    2. Carthy's March / The Lemmon Tree
    3. I Haven't Told Her, She Hasn't Told Me
    4. My Girl
    5. Boys of Bedlam
    6. Oh Had I a Golden Thread
    7. AMC Song (Azicatal)
    8. Wimoweh - (excerpt)
    9. Young Banker
    10. Postman's Knock, The
    11. Constant Billy
    12. Lakes of Cold Flynn
    13. Irish Washerwoman / The Ash Plant
    14. Arthur McBride
    15. The Royal Forester / Bald-Headed End Of The Broom
    16. Nafarroa
    17. Wren, The
    18. King, The
    19. Joy Health Love and Peace
    20. Hunting the Wren
    21. Hunting the Cutty Wren
    22. Byker Hill
    1. Nothing Rhymed
    2. Lord of the Dance
    3. Rivers of Babylon
    4. History Lesson
    5. January Man
    6. Ballad of Alfie Hinds
    7. Humane Turnkey, The
    8. Farewell, Farewell
    9. Dust to Dust
    10. Stitch in Time
    11. Trindon Grange Disaster
    12. Palaces of Gold
    13. Springhill Mine Disaster
    14. Coal Not Dole
    15. Perfumes of Arabia
    16. Such a War Has Never Been
    17. Wife of the Soldier, The
    18. Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll, The
    19. Ant and the Grasshopper, The
    20. Company Policy
    21. Monday Morning
    22. Rave On
    23. Oor Hamlet
    24. Harry Lime Theme, The
    1. Jack Orion
    2. Leaves of Life
    3. Duncan and Brady
    4. Geordie
    5. Sir Patrick Spens
    6. King Henry
    7. Sovay the Female Highwayman
    8. Man of Newlyn Town
    9. Bows of London, The
    10. Lucy Wan
    11. Lord Randall
    12. Whale Catchers, The
    13. Rufford Park Poachers
    14. John Barleycorn
    15. Hard Times of Old England
    16. Hard Cheese of Old England
    17. Over the Hills and Far Away
    18. Farmer's Servant, The
    19. False Knight on the Road
    20. Elfin Knight, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 60

  • Credits

    This is an Enhanced CD, which contains regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
    Personnel includes: Martin Carthy, Eliza Carthy, Bert Jansch, Three City Four, Brass Monkey, Wood Wilson Carthy, Dave Swarbrick, Steeleye Span, Howard Evans, John Kirkpatrick, Plain Capers Band, The Albion Band, The Watersons, Band Of Hope, June Tabor, Rory McEwan, Ashley Hutchings, Oskorri, Les Barker, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Sidney Carter, Dave Goulder, Buddy Holly, Bob Dylan, Berthold Brectht.
    Producers: Neil Wayne, Nigel Schofield.
    Compilation producer: Neil Wayne.
    Includes a 100 page booklet with biography, discography, a photo archive, and liner notes by Martin Carthy, Nigel Schofield, Colin Irwin, John Kirkpatrick, John Peel, Dave Swarbrick, and John Roberts.
    It would be far too easy to simply call this the definitive Martin Carthy compilation. Given its length -- four CDs plus a CD-ROM -- it would seem to cover all the high spots. In fact, it goes far deeper, looking at his career not chronologically, but splitting the albums into Classic Carthy, Carthy in Company, Carthy Contemporaries, and Child: Carthy. It's an approach that works well and which also discovers plenty of hidden gems that have never seen the light of day before, from early live performances to tracks by his first band, Three City Four, that have never been reissued on CD. It all underscores the fact that Carthy is a major force in English -- and British -- folk music, someone who deserves every plaudit he's ever been given, whether for his understated guitar technique or his thoughtful interpretations of traditional songs, illustrated here on the first and last discs. And while his reputation rests heavily on that traditional arrangement of material, he's done a good share of modern work, too, whether his own, all-too-infrequent compositions like "Company Policy," Dylan, Richard Thompson, or even Gilbert O'Sullivan. From solo work to duets with fiddler Dave Swarbrick, the bold Brass Monkey, and Waterson:Carthy, the man plowed a lot of furrows and the compilers of this set have gone over them all with a very fine-toothed comb. Add to that an excellent booklet, and one has an outstanding set and a well-deserved tribute to one of the great folk figures. ~ Chris Nickson

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (6/01, p.127) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Not just a fitting tribute but a treasure trove for fans...with a host of rare complement such perennials as 'Famous Flower Of Serving Men' and 'Lord Franklin'. Why can't all box sets be like this?"
    Dirty Linen (8-9/01, p.57) - "...Hours of enjoyment..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (1/02, p.70) - Ranked #9 in Mojo's "Best [10] Box Sets & Compilations of 2001".
    Mojo (Publisher) (4/01, p.91) - "...A joy to listen to...this sterling retrospective will intrigue, thrill and delight anyone fascinated by what lies at the edges of British music of the rock era."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $50.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for