CD Back in Blood [The 69 Eyes] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 4679149),
back to browsing

Back in Blood [The 69 Eyes] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Back In Blood
    2. We Own The Night
    3. Dead N' Gone
    4. Good, The Bad & The Undead, The
    5. Kiss Me Undead
    6. Lips Of Blood
    7. Dead Girls Are Easy
    8. Night Watch
    9. Some Kind Of Magick
    10. Hunger
    11. Suspiria Snow White
    12. Eternal
    1. Dead Girls Are Easy [Video Clip]
    2. Hollywood Kills [Live At Whiskey A Go Go]: Devils/Don't Turn Your Back On Fear/Betty Blue/Christina Death/Crashing High/The Chair/Feel Berlin/Gothic Girl/Sister Of Charity/Framed In Blood/Lost Boys/I Just Want To Have Something To Do/Brandon Lee - (l
    3. Back In Blood [Electronic Press Kit]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 23970

  • Credits
    ProducerMatt Hyde
    EngineerMatt Hyde; Mike Masters; Chris Rakestraw

    Personnel: JYRKI69 (vocals); Matt Hyde (guitar, programming); Timo Timo (guitar); Care Failure, Benji Madden, London LeGrand (background vocals).
    Audio Mixer: Matt Hyde .
    The 69 Eyes may have been Finland's premiere goth'n'roll band for many years, but with their international career still largely relegated to minor cult popularity at best, the fact that 2009's Back in Blood is actually the group's tenth studio album will surely be lost on most music consumers. Incredible as it may seem, though, the band has indeed been around since 1989, and therefore can boast both the mileage and experience to back up its seemingly gimmicky, sleazy glam-punk image, as well as its surprisingly traditional `80s goth foundation, sonically steeped primarily in the Sisters of Mercy thanks to singer Jyrki Linnankivi's Eldritch-like baritones. And despite the inescapable aesthetic similarities, Back in Blood highlights like the guitar-driven, piano-tinkling "We Own the Night," "Dead n' Gone," and "Lips of Blood" prove yet again that the 69 Eyes are almost always at their best when safely ensconced within that mid-paced goth rock comfort zone. Even minor deviations, like crossing the cock rock borderline on "The Good, the Bad & the Undead" or waxing balladic on "Hunger," generally fail to pack quite the same punch. So too several songs that resemble mere musical shells hastily plopped atop clever but clumsily written lyrics ("Dead Girls Are Easy," the hard-edged "Suspiria Snow White") or the occasional glaring song-theft (see "Night Watch," which nicks the dual harmonies of Blue yster Cult's "Burning for You"), but when you least expect it, the album's closing Johnny Cash-inspired lament, "Eternal," hits the mark perfectly, like it's an outtake from the American Recordings series. And it's precisely because of these mixed results that perhaps the weirdest thing about Back in Blood is how damn entertaining it is from start to finish and through thick and thin -- surely a testament to how the 69 Eyes have been haunting their castle long enough to get by on charm, even when the music itself lags behind somewhat. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $24.68
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for