CD La Grande Danse Macabre [PA] (CD 1159978),
back to browsing

La Grande Danse Macabre [PA]

  • 1. Ars Moriendi
    2. Azrael
    3. Pompa Funebris 1660
    4. Obedience Unto Death
    5. Bonds of Unholy Matrimony
    6. La Grande Danse Macabre
    7. Death Sex Ejaculation
    8. Funeral Bitch
    9. Summers End
    10. Jesus Christ...Sodomized
    11. Samhain - (Bonus Track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): REG-CD-1031

  • Credits
    EngineerPeter Tagtgren; Tommy Tagtgren

    Marduk: Legion (vocals); Morgan Steinmeyer Hakansson (guitar); B. War (bass); Fredrik Andersson (drums).
    Recorded at Abyss Studios in Sweden.
    Audio Remasterer: Magnus "Devo" Andersson.
    Quite simply, Marduk embodies everything that's nasty and brutish about black metal. If Emperor, Immortal, Mayhem, and Cradle of Filth are the familial Don Corleones of the genre, Marduk could be their hired thug, a weapons specialist not afraid to get dirty hands while taking care of business. That being said, Marduk has unfortunately been a perennial second-tier outfit, although La Grande Danse Macabre, the band's seventh full-length studio release, is its most accomplished and varied work to date. Those disappointed by the blastbeat overload of previous album Panzer Division Marduk will be pleasantly surprised to gander at the grotesque, club-footed cave beast that is La Grande Danse Macabre: A few grandiose song structures, plenty of tempo variations (blasting drums are still abundant, if not as prevalent), gleefully blasphemous lyrical exhortations, and a crisp, clean Abyss Studios production. The record kicks off with the mid-paced instrumental intro "Ars Moriendi," where the power chords come a-crushing before leading into "Azrael," which boasts a superb arrangement and lyric -- a potential classic if not for the mediocre blast-riffing weighing down its flamingly destructive ascent heavenward. The album's granite foundation consists of the truly epic cuts "Bonds of Unholy Matrimony" and "La Grande Danse Macabre," both horribly potent and intelligent onslaughts of ugliness led by relentlessly chugging riffs and the tortured, if somewhat generic, vocal rasps of Legion. As well, "Funeral Bitch," "Death Sex Ejaculation," and "Jesus Christ...Sodomized" are solid excursions into perversity, if hindered by disappointingly immature lyrics -- although they are well-penned, almost poetic in structure, and thankfully not as satanically simplistic or lunkheaded as, say, Deicide. La Grande Danse Macabre is nonetheless a worthy if occasionally uneven effort from these Swedish black metal assassins, the group taking a songwriting step in the right direction, perhaps leaning toward the superb, keyboardless metal wizardry of Immortal. Sure, Marduk knows how to wield its weaponry with succinct efficiency but, unless the group finds and embraces its own demonic muse, it will always be an unholy bridesmaid and never a bride. ~ John Serba
    DVD Features:
    Includes Bonus DVD.
    Track List
    1. On Darkened Wings
    2. Panzer Division Marduk
    3. Sulphur Souls
    4. Funeral Bitch
    5. The Black Tormentor Of Satan
    6. Still Dead
    7. Jesus Christ...Sodomized
    8. La Grande Danse Macabre
    9. Stay The Nazarene

  • Critic Reviews
    Alternative Press (11/01, p.88) - 7 out of 10 - "...Artlessly assaultive....It's utterly, joyously hateful and, from a musical standpoint completely pure....That kind of single-mindedness deserves admiration."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for