CD Romulus (CD 4663118),
back to browsing


  • 1. Romulus
    2. Storm The Gates Of Alesia - (featuring Nergal)
    3. Cry Havoc
    4. Surrender The Sun
    5. Invictus
    6. Final War, The (Battle Of Actium) - (featuring Karl Sanders)
    7. Legio XII
    8. Blood, Courage & The Gods That Walk The Earth
    9. Cruor Nostri Abbas - (featuring Arnt Obsidian Gronbech)
    10. In Her Dark Embrace
    11. Pantheon, The (Jupiter's Reign)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2355-2

  • Credits
    ProducerMaurizio Iacono; J-F Dagenais
    EngineerJames Murphy; J-F Dagenais

    Personnel: Maurizio Iacono (vocals); J-F Dagenais, Stephane Barbe (guitar); Jonathan Leduc (keyboards, sampler); Francois Mongrain (bass instrument); Max Duhamel (drums).
    Audio Mixer: J-F Dagenais.
    Arrangers: Maurizio Iacono; J-F Dagenais.
    Melodic death metal and symphonic black metal are not the same thing, but there are certainly strong parallels between the two--both offer a more melodic and nuanced approach to extreme metal--and they can easily be combined, which is what Ex Deo (a side project for Kataklysm frontman Maurizio Iacono) do on ROMULUS. This 2009 release is more death metal than black metal, but symphonic black metal is clearly part of Ex Deo's recipe on an album that is forceful and intense yet intricate and musical. Actually, the most extreme thing about Romulus is the singing; replace Iacono's extreme vocals (which include death metal's "Cookie Monster" growl as well as black metal's evil-sounding rasp) with clean vocals and you would essentially be left with an epic power metal album that incorporates thrash metal elements at times.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.69
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for