CD Imidiwan: Companions [Tinariwen] [CD] [1 disc] (CD 6235131),
back to browsing

Imidiwan: Companions [Tinariwen] [CD] [1 disc]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Imidiwan Afrik Temdam [My Friends From All Over Africa]
    2. Lulla
    3. Tenhert [the Doe]
    4. Enseqi Ehad Didagh [I Lie Down Tonight]
    5. Tahult In [My Salutation]
    6. Tamodjerazt Assis [Regret is Like a Worm]
    7. Intitlayaghen
    8. Imazeghen N Adagh [Touareg of the Adagh]
    9. Tenalle Chegret [the Long Thread]
    10. Kel Tamashek [the Tamashek People]
    11. Assuf Ag Assuf [Assuf Son of Assuf]
    12. Chabiba [Youth]
    13. Ere Tasfata Adounia [He Who Values Life]
    14. Desert Wind
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Imidiwan Afrik Temdam
    2. Amassakoul N'tenere
    3. Tenhert
    4. Begin the Beguine
    5. Tenidagh Egh Diere Diere
    6. Lulla
    7. Amidinin
    8. Cler Achel
    9. Tamiditin Tadjer Essar
    10. Imazeghen N'adagh
    11. Desert Wind
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 68096

  • Credits
    ProducerJean Paul Romann; Jessy Nottola
    EngineerJean Paul Romann; Jessy Nottola

    Audio Mixers: David Odlum; Jean Paul Romann; Philippe Baurens.
    Recording information: Tessalit, Mali, Southern Sahara Desert.
    Director: Jessy Nottola.
    Editor: Vincent Buchy.
    Photographers: Nadia Nid El Mourid; Hamed Askari.
    Translators: Nadia Belalimat; Zeyd Ag Cheriff; Andy Morgan.
    Sometimes in music, the teacher learns some valuable things from the student. In the United States, traditional African music played an essential role in the development of what came to be called the blues -- and many years later, American blues artists returned the favor by influencing artists in various parts of Africa. The blues have certainly had a major impact on Tinariwen, a group from the Sahara region. The influence of the blues is impossible to miss on their two-disc set Imidiwan: Companions, which consists of a 62-minute audio CD and a 30-minute bonus DVD. The DVD, a documentary, contains interviews with members of Tinariwen as well as some musical performances, while the CD offers music exclusively. But on both the CD and the DVD, there is never any doubt that Imidiwan: Companions is world fusion in the true sense. Tinariwen's music has a strong blues element, a strong Malian element, and a strong Middle Eastern/Arabic element; that combination of influences yields compelling results for the group, which favors a combination of acoustic and electric instruments. Acoustic percussion is united with electric guitar and electric bass, but the fact that Imidiwan: Companions isn't strictly acoustic doesn't mean that the music isn't rootsy and organic-sounding. The performances are consistently earthy, and the feeling of the blues is impossible to miss on hypnotic, haunting tracks such as "Tenalle Chegret," "Assuf Ag Assuf," "Lulla," and "Enseqi Ehad Didagh." In fact, Imidiwan: Companions is full of moody guitar riffs that would not be the least bit out of place on a John Lee Hooker or Lightnin' Hopkins album, although the non-English-language vocals and the African percussion obviously are not things one would typically expect to find on a traditional American blues recording. World music enthusiasts can't go wrong with the excellent Imidiwan: Companions. ~ Alex Henderson

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.124) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "The electric guitars flash like lightning, the looping melodies and Tamashek raps hypnotize."
    Spin (p.85) - "On the mesmeric stomp of 'Kel Tamashek,' the spindly guitar lines eerily conjure a stormy desert expanse."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.59) - "Their lyrics reveal the mysteries of true rolling stones." -- Grade: A
    Down Beat (p.57) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Lyrics sung in Tamashek lay bare pained human emotion with a hard-hitting vitality."
    Clash (magazine) - "The album opener 'My Friends From All Over Africa' oozes heartfelt emotion as joint vocals all come together, creating a beautiful harmony whilst the gentle percussion entwines the soft guitar lines."
    Uncut (magazine) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he jittery 'Ensequ Ehad Didagh (Lying Down Tonight)', negotiates the wonderfully disorienting time-signature of 9/16 with a ramshackle charm."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for