CD Quiet Nights [Deluxe Edition] [602527157405] (CD 4682380),
back to browsing

Quiet Nights [Deluxe Edition] [602527157405]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Where or When
    2. Too Marvelous for Words
    3. I've Grown Accustomed to Your Face
    4. Boy from Ipanema, The
    5. Walk on By
    6. You're My Thrill
    7. Este Seu Olhar
    8. So Nice
    9. Quiet Nights
    10. Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
    11. How Can You Mend a Broken Heart
    12. Every Time We Say Goodbye
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Love Being Here With You - (live)
    2. Boy from Ipanema - (live)
    3. Exactly Like You - (live)
    4. Quiet Nights - (live)
    5. You're My Thrill - (live)
    6. I Don't Know Enough About You - (live)
    7. Let's Fall in Love - (live)
    8. Makin' Whoopee
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 12433

  • Credits
    ProducerDiana Krall; Tommy LiPuma
    EngineerAl Schmitt; Steve Genewick

    Personnel: Joel Pargman, Eun Mee Ahn, David Ewart, Amy Wickman, Gil Romero, Katia Popov, Tammy Hatwan, Alan Grunfeld, Mari Tsumura, Razdan Kuyumjian, Yue Deng, Tiffiany Yi Hu, Darius Campo, Liane Mautner, Josephina Vergara, Caroline Campbell, Charlie Bisharat, Mario Diaz de Leon, Tereza Stanislav (violin); Matt Funes, Dan Neufeld, Vickie Miskolczy, Todd Marda, Marlow Fisher, Kate Reddish, Janet Lakatos, Evan Wilson, Thomas Dienner (viola); Trevor Handy, Rudy Stein, Timothy Landauer, Vanessa Freebairn-Smith, Antony Cooke , Larry Corbett, Cecilia Tsan, Steve Richards (cello); Steve Kujala, Geri Rotella, David Shostac, Heather Clark (flute); Earl Dumler (oboe); Todd Miller, Bill Lane, Rick Todd, Brad Warnaar (French horn); Doug Tornquist (tuba); Jeff Hamilton (drums, cymbals).
    Audio Mixer: Al Schmitt.
    Photographer: Robert Maxwell.
    Arranger: Claus Ogerman.
    Bossa nova is not unfamiliar to Diana Krall, but 2009's Quiet Nights is her first record devoted to the gently swaying rhythm. Teaming up again with arranger Claus Ogerman, who last worked with Krall on 2001's The Look of Love and who also frequently collaborated with bossa nova godfather Antonio Carlos Jobim, Krall winds up with a mellow, lazy album that recalls the relaxed late-night sophistication of Jobim's duet album with Frank Sinatra, which Ogerman also happened to arrange and conduct. It's not just the sound, it's the songs: how '60s standards like Bacharach/David's "Walk on By" sit next to three Jobim tunes, a song by Marcos Valle ("So Nice"), and a few American Songbook standards placed at the beginning, the better to ease listeners into purer bossa nova at the end. Then again, they don't need much persuasion -- if any music could be called accessible it's this, with its warm intimacy and classic good taste. If anything, there may be a bit too much classic good taste on Quiet Nights -- there is no reinterpretation, only homage -- but that's not quite a problem because Krall knows enough to lay back, to never push, only to glide upon the gossamer surface. After all, some things are timeless for a reason; they need no updating, only replicating. [This version was released with a bonus DVD of live performances from Madrid, as well as a version of "Makin Whoopee" featuring Elvis Costello and Elton John.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (p.73) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Her great rhythm section is stalwart throughout....Claus Ogerman has provided luxurious orchestral arrangements that never call attention to themselves..."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.87) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The results are stunning, Krall's sultry voice evinces a deeper sensuality and soulfulness than ever before..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for