CD Salsa: A Musical History [Box] (CD 6984883),
back to browsing

Salsa: A Musical History [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: THE ROOTS OF SALSA 1960-1971:
    1. Son Son - Alegre All-Stars - (featuring Cheo Feliciano)
    2. Fania - Johnny Pacheco y Su Nuevo Tumbao
    3. Bochinchosa - Joe Cuba Sextet
    4. Son con Guaguanc - Celia Cruz
    5. Azcar - Eddie Palmieri
    6. Corta el Bonche - Santos Colon/Tito Puente & His Orchestra
    7. Cabo E - Ricardo Ray/Bobby Cruz
    8. Soledad, La - Ismael Rivera - (featuring Cortijo y Su Combo)
    9. Campanero - Willie Rosario Y Su Orquesta
    10. T Eres Mi Coco - Bobby Valentn
    11. Me Gusta el Son - Fania All-Stars
    12. Borinquen - Willie Coln - (featuring Hctor Lavoe)
    13. Puro Teatro - La Lupe
    14. Mrame de Frente - Ray Barretto
    15. Vmonos Pa'l Monte - Eddie Palmieri
    1. Estrellas de Fania - Fania All-Stars
    2. Anacaona - Cheo Feliciano
    3. Dulce con Dulce - Pete "El Conde" Rodrguez/Johnny Pacheco
    4. Agzate - Ricardo Ray/Bobby Cruz
    5. Revolucin, La - Orchestra Harlow
    6. Salsa y Sabor - Tito Puente
    7. Avsale a Mi Contraro - Roberto Roena
    8. Lotera, La - Andy Harlow
    9. Pa' Bravo Yo - Justo Betancourt
    10. As Se Compone un Son - Ismael Miranda
    11. Hija de Lola, La - Charlie Palmieri
    12. Nunca Contigo - Eddie Palmieri
    13. Calle Luna Calle Sol - Hctor Lavoe/Willie Coln
    14. Indestructible - Ray Barretto
    15. Quimbara - Johnny Pacheco/Celia Cruz
    1. Cartera, La - Orchestra Harlow
    2. Plant Bandera - Tommy Olivencia
    3. Guarar - Ray Barretto
    4. Peridico de Ayer - Hctor Lavoe
    5. Sonaremos el Tambo - Tipica '73
    6. Catalina La O - Pete "El Conde" Rodrguez
    7. Mi Desengao - Roberto Roena
    8. Boranda - La Sonora Poncea
    9. Plstico - Rubn Blades/Willie Coln
    10. Me Tienes Loco - Ismael Rivera
    11. Cancin de las Canciones - Roberto Roena
    12. Toma Mis Manos - Willie Coln
    13. Siempre Ser - The Lebrn Brothers
    14. Fama, La - Hctor Lavoe
    1. Yo No Soy Juguete - Ismael Miranda
    2. Me Voy Pa' Morn - Fania All-Stars/Hctor Lavoe
    3. Sola Vaya - La Sonora Poncea
    4. Ritmo en el Corazn - Ray Barretto/Celia Cruz
    5. Ven Devrame Otra Vez - Lalo Rodrguez
    6. Cura, La - Frankie Ruiz
    7. Juguete de Nadie - Luisito Ayala Y Su Puerto Power
    8. No Vale la Pena - Johnny Rivera/Ray Seplveda
    9. Lluvia - Eddie Santiago
    10. La Hora Que Me Llamen Voy, A - Jos "El Canario" Alberto
    11. Aqu el Que Baila Gana - Fania All-Stars/Andy Montaez
    12. Por Mujeres Como T - Tito Rojas
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 8007

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Ernesto Lechner.
    Photographers: Izzy Sanabria; Joe Conzo; Louie Laffitte.
    Except for the occasional set released by a licensing heavyweight, box sets hoping to encompass a full style of music (especially one as big as salsa) often fail before they began -- they simply don't own all of the great music to create a proper compilation. The mighty Fania label is an exception to this rule, especially for salsa. As a label, it put out much of the best of '70s salsa; as a post-millennial reissue umbrella, it gathers additional critical mass thanks to labels like Tico, Alegre, Vaya, and Inca. Surveying from the early '60s through to 1999, Salsa: A Musical History is a gargantuan display of musical might, four discs and four hours of salsa from its rudimentary but virtuosic beginnings in Spanish Harlem's post-mambo depression and stretching through the glorious and heady days of the '70s, when powerhouse orchestras with members numbering in the dozens played slick arrangements of Puerto Rican bombas or plenas and Cuban sons. The box begins exactly where it should, with tracks by the amazing Alegre All Stars and Johnny Pacheco, the latter of whom inaugurated salsa's best label in 1963 -- and christened it with a track named "Fania." The rest of the '60s appear on the first disc, including excellent material from Eddie Palmieri, Joe Cuba, Tito Puente, Ray Barretto, and Willie Coln. The '70s and early '80s take up all of the second and third discs, honing in on the smooth yet freewheeling sound of modernized salsa with tracks by Orchestra Harlow, Ricardo Ray & Bobby Cruz, Celia Cruz, Ismael Miranda, Rubn Blades, and Sonora Poncea. The '90s are summarily rounded up on the fourth disc with modern-day inheritors Frankie Ruiz and Ray Sepulveda and Tito Rojas as well as latter-day work from Barretto and Celia Cruz. Anyone who knows enough about salsa to enjoy it would love this set. ~ John Bush

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $35.29
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for