CD The Complete 78s, Vol. 1 (CD 6974665),
back to browsing

The Complete 78s, Vol. 1

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Corazon, Un
    2. Solos Tu Y Yo
    3. Mambo Macoco
    4. Abaniquito
    5. Titos Mambo
    6. Babalaqua
    7. Baile Simon
    8. Quiero Mi tambo
    9. Cuban Cutie
    10. Burujon Puao, A
    11. Babarabatiri
    12. Cuban Mambo
    13. Mambolero
    14. Mi Guaguanco [New Guaguanco]
    15. Mambo La Roca
    16. Lo Dicen Todas
    17. Esy
    18. Nuevo Mambo, El
    19. Drinking Mambo, The
    20. Oye Lo Que Tiene El Mambo
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Soy Feliz
    2. No Lo Hago Mas
    3. Vibe Mambo
    4. Por La Maana
    5. Willie and Ray Mambo
    6. Tinguaro
    7. Mambo Con Puente
    8. Baile Mi Mambo
    9. Tatalibba
    10. Guajeo En Dominante
    11. Mambo Gallego
    12. Quiereme y Veras
    13. Rey Del Timbal, El
    14. Que Lindo El Mambo
    15. Titoro
    16. Mamey Colorao'
    17. Camina Camaron
    18. Mari Juana
    19. Mambiando
    20. Mambo Suavecito
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7102

  • Credits
    ProducerJoe Conzo (Compilation)

    Personnel: Manny Oquendo, Mario Bauz, Mongo Santamara.
    Liner Note Author: Joe Conzo.
    In what is perhaps the most admirable reissue campaign in Latin music history, Emusica head Giora Breil commissioned Joe Conzo to compile and annotate a four-volume collection from the dawn of Tito Puente's leadership of a band, a series of 156 songs recorded from 1949 to 1955 and released on the Tico label as 78 rpm records. Although Puente was recording for RCA around the same time (those sides appear on The Complete RCA Recordings, Vol. 1), these Tico songs present a far different side of the Latin maestro, and there are few parallels between the material. Where Puente was recording plentiful swing crossovers for RCA ("Tuxedo Junction" and "Take the 'A' Train" in addition to his early masterpiece "Ran Kan Kan"), his material for Tico found him keeping mostly to what his core audience in Spanish Harlem wanted to hear: plentiful hard mambos with the occasional bolero or ballad and, overall, few direct concessions to mainstream music. This was the equivalent of Duke Ellington on OKeh or Charlie Parker on Dial -- recordings for the hardcore faithful that showed a band as it existed instead of as it wanted to be sold. However, despite assumptions either way, that doesn't necessarily make this a better or worse set than the fruits of the RCA years, and indeed, for a crossover audience whose numbers usually overwhelm the core base, Puente's Tico recordings will be less familiar and even less dynamic. But the level of musicianship was high, with future heroes Mario Bauz and Mongo Santamaria heard throughout. In at least one area, however, Puente's band wasn't at its peak, and that was in the vocals. Vicentico Valdes is heard most often here, and although he's a fine singer, he is no equal of the great Cuban, Beny Mor (especially when he tries on a Mor classic like "Babarabatiri"). But even though it lacks the epoch-shifting importance of "Ran Kan Kan" or "Oye Como Va," The Complete 78s, Vol. 1 is a treasure trove for Latin fans. ~ John Bush

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.116) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "These recordings sound as fresh as the day they were cut, but they're tinted with a sense of an era that's gone forever."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $18.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for