CD The Ultimate Jesse Cook (CD 646451),
back to browsing

The Ultimate Jesse Cook

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mario Takes a Walk
    2. Air
    3. Paloma
    4. Byzantium Underground
    5. Baghdad
    6. Surrender
    7. Switchback
    8. Brio
    9. Red
    10. Early on Tuesday
    11. Breeze From Saintes Maries
    12. Breathing Below the Surface
    13. Closer to Madness - (live)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. That's Right!
    2. Tempest
    3. Rattle and Burn
    4. Azul
    5. Gravity
    6. Fall at Your Feet
    7. Dance of Spring
    8. Into the Dark
    9. On Walks the Night
    10. Gipsy
    11. Waiting For Tide
    12. Cascada
    13. Toca Orilla
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 36007

  • Credits

    Ultimate Jesse Cook doesn't give fans any bonus material, not even the DVD content so popular with mid-2000s retrospectives. But, while it skimps on the extras, the two-disc, 26-song set is a perfect abstract of the guitarist's work for Narada. The 2004 live recording, Montral, only gets one track ("Closer to Madness"), but Cook's five studio albums are all represented well. The set isn't chronological, but by mixing the songs up, Ultimate Jesse Cook heightens the crossroads quality of Cook's music. In one moment he's a flamenco master, the next a new age interpreter, and he explores Arabic sounds with just as much ease, and while Cook isn't afraid to streamline his influences for the sake of pop accessibility, he's respectful of them, too. For instance, the new age side of his sound never overtakes his curiosity and virtuosity as a guitarist and bandleader. Sometimes breezy synthesizers, and occasionally a percussion instrument, feel "painted in" for effect rather than meaning, but that's rare, and as he's proven over the years with Narada, Jesse Cook offers fusion, subtlety, and most of all evocative playing. Collection highlights include Tempest's title track, "Early on Tuesday" (featuring Sammy Llanas from BoDeans), Freefall's propulsive "Switchback," the organic/digital play of "Byzantium Underground," and the memorable Cajun touches in "That's Right." ~ Johnny Loftus

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.11
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for