CD At Ease with Coleman Hawkins (CD 189754),
back to browsing

At Ease with Coleman Hawkins

  • 1. For You, for Me, Forevermore
    2. While We're Young
    3. Then I'll Be Tired of You
    4. Mighty Like a Rose
    5. At Dawning
    6. Trouble Is a Man
    7. Poor Butterfly
    8. I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 181

  • Credits
    ProducerEsmond Edwards
    EngineerRudy VanGelder

    Personnel: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Wendell Marshall (bass); Osie Johnson (drums).
    Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on January 29, 1960. Originally released on Moodsville (7). Includes liner notes by Ron Eyre.
    Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1992, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    Personnel: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Osie Johnson (drums).
    Audio Remixer: Kirk Felton.
    Liner Note Author: Ron Eyre.
    Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (01/29/1960); New York, NY (01/29/1960).
    Photographer: Don Schlitten.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Osie Johnson; Tommy Flanagan; Wendell Marshall.
    Recorded originally for the Prestige subsidiary Moodsville, Coleman Hawkins (along with the Tommy Flanagan Trio) sticks exclusively to ballads and slower pieces, all played at a low flame. Although it is nice to hear the veteran tenor interpreting "Poor Butterfly" and "I'll Get By," this CD is more successful as pleasant background music than as creative jazz. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $11.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for