CD Blue Note Trip: Heat Up, Simmer Down (CD 15780578),
back to browsing

Blue Note Trip: Heat Up, Simmer Down

  • 0. DISC 1: HEAT UP:
    1. Fun in the Church - Cannonball Adderley
    2. Uno Esta - Bobbi Humphrey
    3. People Sure Act Funny - Dr. Lonnie Smith
    4. (Fallin' Like) Dominoes - Donald Byrd
    5. Windjammer, The - Grant Green
    6. Money Man - Candido
    7. Duid Deed - Bud Powell
    8. About Love - Ben Sidran
    9. Hard to Handle - Patti Drew
    10. Say It Loud (I'm Black and I'm Proud) - Lou Donaldson
    11. (Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay - Peggy Lee
    12. African Sweets - Gene Harris & the Three Sounds
    13. Rain, The - Eddie Gale
    14. Hawaiian War Chant (Ta-Hu-Wa-Hu-Wai) - Ella Fitzgerald
    15. Where Is It? - Marc Moulin
    16. Wipe Away the Evil - Horace Silver
    17. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) - June Christy
    1. Few Words from Cannonball [Spoken Word], A - Cannonball Adderley Sextet
    2. Dans le Vert de Ses Yeux - Brisa Roch
    3. Black Sugar - The Three Sounds
    4. Strange Vibes - Horace Silver
    5. Never Get Enough - Raul Midn
    6. Song of Delilah - Lou Blackburn
    7. I'm in Love - Nancy Wilson
    8. Capers - Willie Bobo
    9. Sky Islands - Dianne Reeves
    10. Congo Mulence - Machito
    11. California Dreamin' - Bobby Womack
    12. Voodoo Reprise - Cassandra Wilson
    13. Thinkin' About Your Body - Bobby McFerrin
    14. Windy C - 100% Pure Poison
    15. Witch Hunt - Donald Byrd
    16. Can't Hide Love - Carmen McRae
    17. Season of the Witch - Lou Rawls
    18. Give It Up - Amos Lee
    19. Pula Yetla - Letta Mbulu
    20. Delightful Deggie [Big Band Version], The - Lee Morgan
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 08450227

  • Credits

    Like the other Blue Note Trip compilations mixed by Martijn Barkhuis, aka Maestro, Heat Up, Simmer Down emphasizes the Blue Note catalog but also draws from other labels in the EMI family, including Capitol and EMI-Manhattan. While the graphic design points toward the `60s, the selections span several decades. Most of the tracks are, of course, strong -- the `60s and `70s picks in particular, from Bobbi Humphrey's Mizell production "Uno Esta" to Nancy Wilson's "I'm in Love" (sampled three decades after release by Erykah Badu's "Honey"). This plays out like another sampler, more like a grab bag than a cohesive listen -- something that comes through with abrupt transitions and deeply contrasting tracks, as heard between Ben Sidran's "About Love" and Patti Drew's version of Otis Redding's "Hard to Handle," two of the Capitol picks. ~ Andy Kellman

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for