CD Bonanza: A Ponderosa Party [Box] [5 discs] (CD 1233790),
back to browsing

Bonanza: A Ponderosa Party [Box] [5 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Bonanza
    2. Sourwood Mountain
    3. Sky Ball Paint
    4. Early One Morning
    5. Ponderosa
    6. Careless Love
    7. Skip to My Lou
    8. In the Pines
    9. Happy Birthday
    10. My Sons, My Sons
    11. Hangin' Blues, The
    12. Shenandoah
    13. Miss Cindy
    14. Place Where I Worship, The
    15. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
    16. Deck the Halls
    17. New Born King, The
    18. Story: The First Christmas Trees
    19. Oh Fir Tree Dear
    20. Christmas Is a-Comin'
    21. O Come, All Ye Faithful
    22. Jingle Bells
    23. Santa Got Lost in Texas
    24. Stuck in the Chimney
    25. Story: Why We Light Candles on the Christmas Trees
    26. Merry Christmas Neighbor
    27. Merry Christmas and Goodnight
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Introduction: Bonanza
    2. Introduction: Alamo
    3. Introduction: Pony Express
    4. Ol' Tin Cup, An
    5. Introduction: Endless Prairie
    6. Ghostriders in the Sky
    7. Introduction: Ringo
    8. Introduction: Blue Guitar
    9. Introduction: Sand
    10. Introduction: Saga of the Ponderosa
    11. Five Card Stud
    12. Cool Water
    13. Devil's Grin, The
    14. Pretty Horses
    15. Devil Cat
    16. Ol' Chisholm Trail, The
    17. Wagon Wheels
    18. Frightened Town
    19. Shadow of the Cactus
    20. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
    21. Gold
    22. Whoopee Ti Yi Yo
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Search, The
    2. Dig, Dig, Dig, Dig (There's No More Water in the Well)
    3. Ol' Cyclone
    4. Twilight on the Trail
    5. Geronimo
    6. Mule Train
    7. I'm a Gun
    8. Gunslinger's Prayer
    9. Nellie Cole
    10. Home on the Range
    11. Virginia Town
    12. Place Where I Worship, The
    13. Introduction: Pop Goes the Hammer
    14. Introduction: End of the Track
    15. Nine Pound Hammer
    16. Introduction: Bring on the Dancin' Girls
    17. Introduction: Oh! What a Town
    18. Introduction: Fourteen Man
    19. Introduction: Destiny
    20. Introduction: Sixteen Tons
    21. Introduction: Trouble Row
    22. Introduction: Chickasaw Mountain
    23. Introduction: Darling, My Darling
    24. Introduction: The Man
    25. Ringo - (French)
    26. Du Sable (Sand) - (French)
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Bold Soldier, The
    2. Mary Ann
    3. They Call the Wind Maria
    4. Sylvie
    5. Lily of the West
    6. Water Is Wide, The
    7. Rake and a Ramblin' Boy
    8. Quiet Girl, A
    9. Shady Grove
    10. Alberta
    11. Empty Pocket Blues
    12. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
    13. Springfield Mountain
    14. Roll Out, Heave That Cotton!
    15. Battle Hymn of the Republic, The
    16. Erie Canal, The
    17. Paiute Sunrise Chant
    18. Charles: Steal Away; He Never Said a Mumblin' Word
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 15684

  • Credits
    ProducerDarol Rice (Reissue); Neely Plumb (Reissue)

    This 4-CD box set contains country favorites and selections from the TV show "Bonanza" performed by the original cast members (Lorne Greene, Michael Landon, Dan Blocker, Pernell Roberts). Also included in the set is a 28-page booklet with color photos, liner notes and discographies.
    Bonanza was the quintessential Western television series. It told the story of a family led by ranch owner Ben Cartwright (Lorne Greene), who had sired three sons: introspective, intellectual Adam (Pernell Roberts), hulking, good-natured "Hoss" (Dan Blocker), and volatile, handsome Little Joe (Michael Landon). When Bonanza first went on the air, it was common practice to get the stars of hit series to expand into other areas, especially recording. Disc One opens with Ponderosa Party Time, the first Bonanza album, which is contrived and sometimes silly but always lively. It features country and folk songs with Greene, Landon, Roberts, and Blocker all singing in character. The material here isn't far removed from the sort of records that Gene Autry used to make for his movies, except that none of these guys is as good a singer as Autry. Lorne Greene's American West, which makes up the first part of Disc Two, is a pretty good record; Welcome to the Ponderosa fills out the rest of the disc. Disc Three is made up of Greene's Portrait of the West and Lorne Greene: The Man albums. These are more western songs, traditional pieces interspersed among modern songs, but both are more elaborately produced than the two previous records. Not all of it works, but it is fun, and livelier than Welcome to the Ponderosa. Pernell Roberts' Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies opens Disc Four; it's a pleasant folk album, using mostly traditional or traditional-type material. He sings in a pleasant, rich baritone that makes this the strongest of the eight albums included here. Dan Blocker's 1963 album Our Heritage, recorded with singer/actor John Mitchum, fills out Disc Four. This was a story-and-song celebration of American history, with the folksy, pleasing Blocker telling the stories and Mitchum singing. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $60.66
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for