CD Do It! [Poncho Sanchez] (CD 105397),
back to browsing

Do It! [Poncho Sanchez]

  • 1. Tin Tin Deo
    2. Ha Lese le di Khanna
    3. Do It!
    4. Squib Cakes
    5. Yo Quisiera
    6. African Flower
    7. Short Dog
    8. Shotgun Slim
    9. Kyper, The
    10. Child of the Earth
    11. Together
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 312 290

  • Credits

    Personnel: Poncho Sanchez (vocals, congas, guiro, percussion, bells); Hugh Masekela (vocals); Javier Vergara (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); David Urquidi (baritone saxophone); Serafin Aguilar (trumpet, flugelhorn); Francisco Torres (trombone, background vocals); David Torres (piano, Hammond b-3 organ); Tony Banda (bass instrument, background vocals); Sal Vasquez (bongos, bata); George Ortiz (timbales, percussion).
    Additional personnel: Tower of Power (various instruments).
    Liner Note Author: Willard Jenkins.
    Journeyman Latin jazz bandleader Poncho Sanchez delivers another stellar and high-energy release with Do It! Featuring Sanchez's longtime ensemble, the album also includes appearances by funk legends Tower of Power, who play throughout, as well as South African jazz/funk legend trumpeter Hugh Masekela. Interestingly, rather than revisit one of Masekela's better-known hits like "Grazin' in the Grass," Sanchez chose to delve into older pieces from Masekela's debut, The Emancipation of Hugh Masekela, including the celebratory "Ha Lese Le Di Khanna" and the moody "Child of the Earth." Both showcase Masekela's evocative vocals. With such superb guest artists here, Do It! delivers an electrifying mix of dancefloor-ready pieces, modal Afro-jazz numbers, and Latin-inflected funk. ~ Matt Collar

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.17
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for