CD Earl Hines Plays Duke Ellington (CD 606530),
back to browsing

Earl Hines Plays Duke Ellington

  • 1. Love You Madly
    2. Sophisticated Lady
    3. I'm Beginning to See the Light
    4. Black and Tan Fantasy
    5. Warm Valley
    6. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
    7. C Jam Blues
    8. Caravan
    9. Everything But You
    10. Mood Indigo
    11. Just Squeeze Me
    12. Come Sunday
    1. Creole Love Call
    2. I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
    3. Shepherd, The
    4. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    5. Black Butterfly
    6. Take Love Easy
    7. Jeep Is Jumpin', The
    8. Heaven
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 361

  • Credits

    Recorded between 1971 and 1975.
    During a four-year period, pianist Earl Hines recorded enough of Duke Ellington's compositions to fill up four LPs. This double CD contains 20 of his better performances including both Ellington's better-known standards and a few obscurities (most notably lengthy versions of "The Shepherd" and "Black Butterfly"). The music is satisfying, although one wishes that New World had reissued all of the music from this extensive project on three CDs. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.47
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for