CD East of the Sun [Lin Halliday] (CD 215254),
back to browsing

East of the Sun [Lin Halliday]

  • 1. All the Things You Are
    2. East of the Sun
    3. I Found a New Baby
    4. Indian Summer
    5. My Foolish Heart
    6. Corcovado
    7. Paradox
    8. Ira's Blues
    9. Will You Still Be Mine?
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 458

  • Credits
    ProducerRobert G. Koester
    EngineerPaul Serrano

    Personnel includes: Lin Halliday (tenor saxophone), Ira Sullivan (trumpet, flute).
    Personnel: Lin Halliday (tenor saxophone); Ira Sullivan (alto flute, tenor saxophone, trumpet, flugelhorn); Jodie Christian (piano); George Fludas (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Stephen J. Casmier.
    Recording information: PS Studio (11/27/1991-04/23/1992); Seagrape Recording Studios, Chicago, IL (11/27/1991-04/23/1992).
    Photographer: Todd Winters.
    On his second album, muscular tenor saxman Lin Halliday continues to excel by sticking with what he does best: unapologetic hard bop greatly influenced by Sonny Rollins' recordings of the late '50s. The insightful Windy City support he'd enjoyed on Delayed Exposure reunites with him on East of the Sun: Ira Sullivan (who is heard on trumpet, flugelhorn, tenor sax, and alto flute), pianist Jodie Christian, bassist Dennis Carrroll, and drummer George Fludas. As intensely as Halliday swings on "I Found a New Baby," his warm and very personal lyricism on "Corcovado," "Indian Summer," and "Will You Still Be Mine" indicate that he's a romantic at heart. Like its predecessor, East of the Sun makes listeners wish a label had offered Halliday a deal 20 or 30 years earlier. ~ Alex Henderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.82
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for