CD Elemental [Demdike Stare] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 15969244),
back to browsing

Elemental [Demdike Stare] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. New Use for Old Circuits
    2. Mephisto's Lament
    3. Kommunion [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)
    4. Unction [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)
    5. Mnemosyne
    6. Shade
    7. In the Wake of Chronos [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)
    8. Floor Stairwell
    9. Violetta
    10. Metamorphosis
    0. DISC 2:
    1. All This Is Ours (Sunrise)
    2. Erosion of Mediocrity
    3. Nuance
    4. Falling Off the Edge [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)
    5. Dauerlinie
    6. Dasein
    7. We Have Already Died
    8. Ishmael's Intent
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): LOVE 077

  • Credits

    Like Demdike Stare's Tryptych and Andy Stott's Passed Me By/We Stay Together before it, Elemental is another over-sized two-disc package from the Modern Love label. It compiles Sean Canty and Miles Whittaker's four-part vinyl series dating from December 2011 and January 2012. The first two parts, Chrysanthe and Violetta, were issued together as a double 12" pack in a gatefold sleeve with slots for parts three and four, Iris and Rose. All three releases were 1000-copy pressings. Four of the 12 tracks from the series -- namely "Kommunion," "Unction," "In the Wake of Cronos," and "Falling Off the Edge" -- appear here in alternate form, while just over half-an-hour of exclusive, bonus content is added. From track to track, there is not much in the way of cohesion. Instead, there's scene after scene of dark energy that is either foreboding or violent, with the duo equally adept at constructing swarming drones and frantic percussion-heavy pieces. Each track provides its own set of thrills; if there's one track that exemplifies the set, it's "Erosion of Mediocrity," where a sour drone is gradually joined by a clanking industrial rhythm, caustic strings, and swarming liquid probes that seem to coagulate and peak in tension just prior to vanishing. There's no need for Canty and Whittaker's approach to evolve or develop, not when they have a seemingly bottomless well of evocative sounds from which to draw and shape. Harrowing, riveting stuff. They're in an increasingly crowded field but hover well above all of their contemporaries. ~ Andy Kellman

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.83
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for