CD Eric Alexander in Europe (CD 1232005),
back to browsing

Eric Alexander in Europe

  • 1. What a Diff'rence a Day Made
    2. Edge, The
    3. Stay on It
    4. To Be With You
    5. Trippin'
    6. Spank That Pig
    7. Good Morning Heartache
    8. That's All
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1114

  • Credits
    ProducerGerry Teekens
    EngineerMax Bolleman

    Personnel: Eric Alexander (tenor saxophone); Bobby Broom (guitar); Melvin Rhyne (organ); Joe Farnsworth (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Sid Gribetz.
    Recording information: Monster (04/10/1995); Studio 44 (04/10/1995).
    Photographer: Gildas Bocl.
    For a change of pace, Eric Alexander recorded this set with an organ trio. The fact that it was cut in Europe is not too relevant, since the musicians are all Americans. With stimulating backing by organist Melvin Rhyne, guitarist Bobby Broom, and drummer Joe Farnsworth, Alexander plays five originals by bandmembers (including three of his own) and a trio of standards. However, the originals all swing and mostly sound as if they could have been veteran standards, too. With the underrated Rhyne keeping the rhythm grooving and lightly funky, Alexander often tears into the pieces, while playing the ballads with a great deal of warmth. Virtually all of Eric Alexander's recordings are easily recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for