CD Jazz Sahara (CD 189521),
back to browsing

Jazz Sahara

  • 1. Ya Annas :: Oh, People
    2. Isma'a :: Listen
    3. Haris, El :: Anxious
    4. Farah 'Alaiyna :: Joy Upon Us
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1820

  • Credits

    Personnel: Ahmed Abdul-Malik (oud, acoustic bass); Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Naim Karacand, Jack Ghanaim, Mike Hamway, Bilal Abdurrahman, Al Harewood (drums).
    Recorded in October 1958.
    Personnel: Ahmed Abdul-Malik (oud); Jackie Ghanaim (kanun); Naim Karacand (violin); Johnny Griffin (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Al Harewood (drums).
    Recording information: New York, NY (10/1958).
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Mike Hamway; Bilal Abdurrahman; Naim Karacand; Jack Ghaniam; Johnny Griffin; Ahmed Abdul-Malik; Al Harewood.
    This CD reissue is an early example of fusing jazz with world music. Abdul-Malik switches between bass and oud; interacts closely with the droning violin of Naim Karacand, Jack Ghanaim's kanoon (a 72-string instrument), and Mike Hamway's darabeka (a percussive drum); and mixes in Al Harewood's drums and (on three of the four selections) the tenor of Johnny Griffin. The music is a qualified success, essentially Middle Eastern folk music with Griffin added in. This set is interesting and, in its own way, innovative but not essential. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.57
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for