CD Keeper of the Flame [Poncho Sanchez] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 105511),
back to browsing

Keeper of the Flame [Poncho Sanchez] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Night in Tunisia, A
    2. Sonando
    3. Summer Knows, The
    4. Con Tres Tambores Bata, Un Quinto y un Tumbador
    5. Este Son
    6. Almendra
    7. Sueo
    8. Cal's Pals
    9. Peruchn
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Ahora
    2. Bien Sabroso
    3. Nancy
    4. Keeper of the Flame
    5. Brisa
    6. Sin Timbal
    7. Una Mas
    8. Half and Half
    9. Ican
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4956

  • Credits
    ProducerCarl E. Jefferson; Carl Jefferson
    EngineerPhil Edwards

    Originally released as 2 separate CDs: SONANDO (1982)/BIEN SABROSO (1983).
    Personnel: Pancho Sanchez (congas, percussion); Jose Perico Hernandez (vocals); Gary Foster, Dick Mitchell (saxophone, flute); Steven Huffsteter (trumpet); Mark Levine (trombone); Charlie Otwell (piano); Tony Banda (bass); Luis Conte (bongos, percussion); David Romero (bongos); Ramon Banda (timbales).
    Recorded at United/Western Studios, Hollywood, California in August 1982. Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather & Virginia Escelante.
    Personnel: Poncho Sanchez (congas, percussion, background vocals); Dick Mitchell (flute, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Gary Foster (flute, saxophone); Steve Huffsteter (trumpet, flugelhorn); Mark Levine (trombone, valve trombone); Charlie Otwell (piano); Ramon Banda (drums, timbales); Luis Conte (bongos, bata, percussion, background vocals); David Romero (bongos); Tony Banda (background vocals).
    Audio Mixer: Phil Edwards .
    Liner Note Authors: Virginia Escalante; Leonard Feather.
    Recording information: United (08/1982); Western Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/1982).
    Released in 2001, Keeper of the Flame isn't a compilation, an anthology, or a best-of. Instead, this package finds Concord reissuing Poncho Sanchez' first two Picante dates, 1982's Sonando and 1983's Bien Sabroso, as a two-CD set. Those albums weren't Sanchez' first ones ever -- before signing with Concord, the conguero recorded two LPs for Discovery in 1979 and 1980, respectively. Neither Sonando nor Bien Sabroso ever went out of print, and those who already have those albums on CD have no reason to acquire Keeper of the Flame. However, this double-CD is well worth obtaining if you don't have those albums on CD. Back in 1982-1983, Sonando and Bien Sabroso set the tone for Sanchez' Concord output -- like his subsequent albums, both are dominated by instrumental Latin jazz but contains a few salsa vocal numbers as well. The noteworthy salsa tracks on Keeper of the Flame include the spirited "Este Son" (featuring vocalist Jose Perico Hernandez) and the infectious cha cha "Sonando," which is based on Ray Barretto's "Cocinando." As solid and rewarding as this material is, Sanchez would only get better as the 1980s progressed. But Keeper of the Flame reminds listeners that his association with Concord got off to a promising start with Sonando and Bien Sabroso. ~ Alex Henderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.51
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for