CD Live at Carnegie Hall: 1938 Complete [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 398838),
back to browsing

Live at Carnegie Hall: 1938 Complete [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

    1. Benny Goodman 1950 Introduction
    2. Don't Be That Way
    3. Sometimes I'm Happy
    4. One O'Clock Jump
    5. Twenty Years of Jazz
    6. Sensation Rag
    7. I'm Coming, Virginia
    8. When My Baby Smiles at Me
    9. Shine
    10. Blue Reverie
    11. Applause
    12. Life Goes to a Party
    13. Setting up For a Jam Session
    14. Honeysuckle Rose
    15. Applause
    16. Body and Soul
    17. Applause as Lionel Hampton Enters
    18. Avalon
    19. Man I Love, The
    20. I Got Rhythm
    21. Pause Track
    1. Blue Skies
    2. Loch Lomond
    3. Applause
    4. Blue Room
    5. Swingtime in the Rockies
    6. Applause
    7. Bei Mir Bist du Schoen
    8. Applause
    9. China Boy
    10. Stompin' at the Savoy
    11. Applause
    12. Dizzy Spells
    13. Applause
    14. Sing Sing Sing
    15. Applause
    16. If Dreams Come True
    17. Applause
    18. Big John Special
    19. Pause Track
    20. Introduction
    21. Don't Be That Way
    22. Twenty Years of Jazz
    23. Blue Reverie
    24. Life Goes to a Party
    25. Body and Soul
    26. Avalon
    27. Swingtime in the Rockies
    28. Conclusion
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 65143

  • Credits

    Personnel: Benny Goodman (vocals, clarinet); Martha Tilton (vocals); Hymie Schertzer, Johnny Hodges (soprano & alto saxophones); Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); George Koenig, Art Rollini, Babe Russin (reeds); Ziggy Elman, Chris Griffin, Harry James, Cootie Williams, Buck Clayton (trumpet); Bobby Hackett (cornet); Red Ballard, Vernon Brown (trombone); Lionel Hampton (vibraphone); Jess Stacy, Teddy Wilson, Count Basie (piano); Alan Reuss, Freddie Greene (gyuitar); Harry Goodman, Walter Page (bass); Gene Krupa (drums).
    Producer: Albert Marx.
    Reissue producer: Phil Schaap.
    Recorded at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on January 16, 1938. Includes liner notes by Phil Schaap and Turk Van Lake.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered using 20-Bit technology.
    The Benny Goodman Orchestra was in top form when this concert was performed on January 16th, 1938. But this is more than just a concert; this date is significant because it represents the first time a jazz ensemble ever played in a concert hall.
    The full Goodman orchestra is featured on many tracks of this two-disc set. Goodman also splits up the evening with some performances by his trio and quartet. Additionally, he gives a 20-year retrospective of jazz, highlighting the Dixieland sound and innovators such as Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, and others. (On "Blue Reverie," some of Ellington's musicians even sit in with Goodman.) Highlights include "Sing Sing Sing (With a Swing)," a classic tune that helped to define the Swing Era itself. This piece features the charismatic drummer Gene Krupa, whose tom-tom rhythms convey a kind of "jungle feel," as the brass figures mimic the call of elephants. On "Avalon," another Goodman favorite, vibraphonist Lionel Hampton really shines. His meticulous arpeggiated runs up and down the vibes are just as exciting today as they must have been in 1938. LIVE AT CARNEGIE HALL 1938 is truly a jazz milestone.

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (6/00, pp.76-7) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...An instant, precedent-setting astonishing assembly of the period's greatest modern players, all at their height, in a vigorous and sustained concert performance....produced with original cover art and an unforgiving ear for integrity..."
    JazzTimes (5/00, pp.128-32) - "...Proclaimed as being the most significant concert in jazz history....Outstanding....this concert belongs in every historically-minded jazz fan's collection..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for