CD LMO Montreal Tapes (CD 977374),
back to browsing

LMO Montreal Tapes

  • 1. Pasionaria, La
    2. Silence
    3. Sandino
    4. We Shall Overcome
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 5274692

  • Credits
    ProducerCharlie Haden; Ruth Cameron

    Full performer name: Charlie Haden/Liberation Music Orchestra.
    Personnel: Charlie Haden (bass); Ken McIntyre (alto saxophone); Ernie Watts, Joe Lovano (tenor saxophone); Tom Harrell, Stanton Davis (trumpet); Ray Anderson (trombone); Sharon Freeman (French horn); Joe Daly (tuba); Geri Allen (piano); Mick Goodrick (guitar); Paul Motian (drums).
    Engineers include: Stephane Morency, Karisma, Alain Chenier.
    Recorded live at the Festival International De Jazz De Montreal, Montreal, Canada on July 8, 1989. Includes liner notes by Philippe Carles.
    Recording information: Festival International De Jazz De Montreal, Montreal, Q (07/08/1989).
    In 1989, the Montreal Jazz Festival presented eight consecutive nights of Charlie Haden and his music. Each concert featured Haden in a different musical setting. The closing night of the performance run was the source of this release. The 12-piece ensemble featured here followed in the tradition of Haden's landmark 1970 album, LIBERATION MUSIC ORCHESTRA, with Spanish-tinged pieces rich with humanitarian passions. Haden's three originals (including the gorgeously moving "Silence" and "Sandino") are joined by a reprise of the earlier album's "We Shall Overcome." Here, that closing number is allowed to ebb and flow for over 37 minutes, allowing ample room for the host of stunning soloists on board (including saxophonists Ernie Watts and Ken McIntyre, guitarist Mick Goodrick and pianist Geri Allen). MONTREAL TAPES has all the sonic warmth of a studio recording with the added edge of musicians performing before a rapt audience.

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (10/99, p.51) - "...The Montreal Tapes is riveting....Haden steers the ensemble flawlessly, loping defiantly and taking strong mellow solos....terrific..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $14.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for