CD Michael Brecker (CD 534749),
back to browsing

Michael Brecker

  • 1. Sea Glass
    2. Syzygy
    3. Choices
    4. Nothing Personal
    5. Cost of Living
    6. Original Rays
    7. My One and Only Love - (CD only)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MCAD-5980

  • Credits
    ProducerDon Grolnick; Michael Brecker
    EngineerJames Farber

    Personnel: Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone, EWI); Kenny Kirkland (keyboards); Pat Metheny (guitar); Charlie Haden (bass); Jack DeJohnette (drums); Robby Kilgore (programming).
    Recorded at Power Station, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Steve Schneider.
    Personnel: Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Pat Metheny (guitar); Kenny Kirkland (keyboards); Jack DeJohnette (drums).
    Recording information: 12/1986-??/1987.
    Although Michael Brecker entered the music business in the early '70s and spent that decade as one of the busiest session musicians around, it wasn't until 1986's MICHAEL BRECKER, one of the first releases on the revived Impulse! label, that he made his debut as a leader. Brecker plays tenor sax on about half of this record, his phrasing resembling a slightly less abstract Lee Konitz in some spots, the lyricism of early Grover Washington Jr. in others.
    On the rest of the album, Brecker plays something called the EWI, or Electronic Wind Instrument, a MIDI synthesizer triggered by blowing into it. While not nearly as lame-sounding as you might expect from that description--it often resembles the treated instruments Miles Davis experimented with throughout the '70s--the of-its-time sound of the instrument and Robby Kilgore's electronic programming on some tracks roots this album firmly in the mid-'80s.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.48
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for