CD Tabligh (CD 1176039),
back to browsing


  • 1. Rosa Parks
    2. DeJohnette
    3. Caravan of Winter
    4. Tabligh
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 750270

  • Credits

    Wadada Leo Smith: Wadada Leo Smith (trumpet); Vijay Iyer (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, synthesizer); John Lindaberg (bass instrument); Shannon Jackson (drum).
    A Mississippi-born jazz trumpeter with an impressive avant-garde pedigree, Ishmael Wadada Leo Smith has been collaborating with avant-jazz luminaries like Anthony Braxton, Jack DeJohnette, and Henry Threadgill since the late '60s. Over the decades he's created a distinctive body of work that's as indebted to traditional West African and South East Asian folk music as it is to the taut, funk-inflected jazz of Herbie Hancock and John McLaughlin.
    TABLIGH is Smith's third release with the Golden Quintet. Over the course of four expansive compositions Smith exhibits a stunning command of his instrument and a startlingly bright tone, over a set of moody, synth-heavy rhythms that evoke the atmosphere of Miles Davis's TRIBUTE TO JACK JOHNSON.

  • Critic Reviews
    The Wire (p.59) - "Smith's horn playing is spacious and meditative, befitting his Rastafarian beliefs; it's as if he's creating a real-time dub mix of his own lines."
    Down Beat (p.77) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "A piece named for the quartet's original drummer, Jack DeJohnette, splashes sonic colors, while the opening 'Rosa Parks' builds tension mightily behind Iyer's Rhodes and Jackson's multidimensional drumming."
    JazzTimes (p.94) - "To say the new lineup is powerful would be a huge understatement. Smith elicits a symphony of sounds from his trumpet....Bassist John Lindberg thumps and plucks so hard that he threatens to pop the woofers."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.03
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for