CD Thad Jones Legacy (CD 606804),
back to browsing

Thad Jones Legacy

  • Disc 1
    1. A-That's Freedom
    2. Once Around
    3. Quiet Lady
    4. Central Park North
    5. Yours and Mine
    6. Fingers
    7. Groove Merchant
    8. All My Yesterdays
    9. My Centennial

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 80581

  • Credits
    EngineerStuart J. Allyn

    The Vanguard Jazz Orchestra: Billy Drewes (soprano & alto saxophones, flute, clarinet); Dick Oats (soprano & alto saxohones, flute); Ralph LaLama (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet); Rich Perry (tenor saxophone, flute); Gary Smulyan (baritone saxophone); Earl Gardner, Joe Mosello, Glenn Drewes, Scott Wendholt (trumpet); John Mosca, Ed Neumeister, Jason Jackson (trombone); Douglas Purviance (bass trombone); Jim McNeely (piano); Dennis Irwin (bass); John Riley (drums).
    Producers: The Vanguard Jazz Orchestra, Thomas Bellino, Douglas Purviance.
    Recorded at Edison Recording Studios, New York, New York on May 1 & 2, 1999. Includes liner notes by Francis Davis.
    All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
    Personnel: Billy Drewes (flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Ralph Lalama (flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Dick Oatts (flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Rich Perry (flute, tenor saxophone); Gary Smulyan (baritone saxophone); Scott Wendholt, Glenn Drewes, Earl Gardner, Joe Mosello (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ed Neumeister, John Mosca, Jason Jackson (trombone); Douglas Purviance (bass trombone); Jim McNeely (piano); John Riley (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Francis Davis.
    Recording information: Edison Recording Studios, New York City NY (05/01/1999/05/02/1999).
    Arranger: Thad Jones.
    Every Monday night at New York's famed Village Vanguard, a jazz tradition is faithfully continued. The Vanguard Jazz Orchestra is one of the last bastions of the big band heritage and with THAD JONES LEGACY, the orchestra pays tribute to one of its founding fathers. Like Jones, the music here is dynamic; sometimes fiery and frantic, other times subtle and caressing, but always on the move. Indeed, every note is a fitting tribute to a musician who, with partner Mel Lewis, sparked a musical legend.
    The band swings with a vengeance on the opening cut, "A-That's Freedom," a grooving strut that picks up more steam as it goes along. Once the orchestra flexes its nimble chops on the blazing "Once Around," it's enough to convince any listener that it means business. The funkiness of the blasting "Central Park North" gives a good indication of how this band blows the roof off its basement home every week. On the other hand, the band's gentle reading of Jones's classic "All My Yesterdays" is as lovely and embracing as could be. Finally, the epic closer "My Centennial" is a burning roar that never lets up, just like the artistry of Jones himself.

  • Critic Reviews
    CMJ (11/29/99, p.27) - "...It's a very swinging and sophisticated large band, which is hard to find these days."
    JazzTimes (6/00, pp.106-9) - "...[They] wield the banner of big band excellence....Couple Thad Jones' writing style...with his gift for swinging phrasing and the result is one of the finest big-band scoring of the post-Basie era..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.17
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for