CD The Carnegie Hall Concerts (December 1947) [Bonus Tracks] (CD 189709),
back to browsing

The Carnegie Hall Concerts (December 1947) [Bonus Tracks]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. New Look, The (Snibor)
    2. Blue Serge
    3. Triple Play
    4. Harlem Airshaft
    5. Johnny Hodges Medley: Wanderlust / Junior Hop / Jeep's Blues / Jeep Is Jumpin' / Squatty Roo / The Mood To Be Wooed
    6. Mella Brava
    7. Kickapoo Joy Juice
    8. On a Turquoise Cloud
    9. Bakiff
    10. Cotton Tail
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Like the Sunrise
    2. Dance #1
    3. Dance #2
    4. Dance #3
    5. Dance #4
    6. Dance #5
    7. Theme Medley: East St. Louis Toodleoo / Echoes Of Harlem / Black And Tan Fantasy / Things Ain't What They Used To Be
    8. Basso Profundo
    9. New York City Blues
    10. Clothed Woman, The
    11. Trumpets No End (Blue Skies)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 24075

  • Credits
    ProducerOrrin Keepnews (Reissue)

    Personnel: Duke Ellington (arranger, piano); Billy Strayhorn (arranger); Kay Davis, Al Hibbler (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney, Russell Procope, Al Sears, Jimmy Hamilton (reeds); Ray Nance (trumpet, violin); Harold Baker, Al Killian, Francis Williams, Shelton Hemphill (trumpet); Tyree Glenn (trombone, vibraphone); Lawrence Brown, Claude Jones (trombone); Fred Guy (guitar); Oscar Pettiford, Junior Raglin (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
    Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York on December 26 & 27, 1947. Original release liner notes by J.R. Taylor.
    Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1991, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley).
    This essential two-CD set captures the Duke Ellington Orchestra at a time when they did little recording, due to health problems and a year-long recording ban by the American Federation of Musicians, and includes four pieces never otherwise recorded. The late '40s was a transistional era for Ellington and his orchestra: "Harlem Airshaft" is recast with a new feel acknowledging the bebop revolution, while Ellington's piano solo "The Clothed Woman" flirts with Monk-like atonality in spots while recalling the boogie-woogieish stride style of Ellington's early days.
    Vocalist Kay Davis' wordless trills throughout "On A Turquoise Cloud" foreshadow the third-stream work of not only Ellington but vocalist Jeanne Lee. Meanwhile, star soloists Johnny Hodges and Ray Nance each get an extended medley to showcase their astonishing chops and Ellington debuts one of his best extended pieces, "The Liberian Suite." This release is both historically important and immensely entertaining.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for