CD The Duke Elington Carnegie Hall Concerts, January 1943 (CD 193417),
back to browsing

The Duke Elington Carnegie Hall Concerts, January 1943

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Star Spangled Banner, The
    2. Black and Tan Fantasy
    3. Rockin' in Rhythm
    4. Moon Mist
    5. Jumpin' Punkins
    6. Portrait of Bert Williams, A
    7. Bojangles
    8. Portrait of Florence Mills (Black Beauty)
    9. Ko Ko
    10. Dirge
    11. Stomp (Johnny Come Lately)
    12. Are You Sticking?
    13. Black - (1st movement of Black, Brown & Beige)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Brown - (2nd movement of Black, Brown & Beige)
    2. Beige - (3rd movement of Black, Brown & Beige)
    3. Bakiff
    4. Jack the Bear
    5. Blue Belles of Harlem
    6. Cotton Tail
    7. Day Dream
    8. Boy Meets Horn
    9. Rose of the Rio Grande
    10. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    11. Going Up
    12. Mood Indigo
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2PCD-34004-2

  • Credits

    Personnel: Duke Ellington (leader, arranger, piano); Betty Roche (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Ben Webster, Harry Carney, Otto Hardwicke, Chauncey Haughton (reeds); Ray Nance (trumpet, violin); Rex Stewart, Harold Baker, Wallace Jones (trumpet); Tricky Sam Nanton, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Fred Guy (guitar); Junior Raglin (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
    Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on January 23, 1943. Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews and Leonard Feather.
    Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1991, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Betty Roch (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Ray Nance (violin, trumpet); Harry Carney, Chauncey Houghton, Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick, Ben Webster (reeds); Harold Baker, Rex Stewart, Shorty Baker, Wallace Jones (trumpet); Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Sonny Greer (drums).
    Liner Note Authors: Leonard Feather; Orrin Keepnews.
    Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (01/23/1943).
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Jack Towers; Billy Strayhorn; Junior Raglin.
    Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Billy Strayhorn.
    Throughout the '40s, the Carnegie Hall concerts by Duke Ellington and his orchestra were the annual high points of jazz performance. Freed from the constraints of the dances that made up most of the Duke's live schedule, the Carnegie Hall concerts gave Ellington an opportunity to explore his longer, classical-influenced pieces as well as the pop tunes that made the band's reputation.
    Opening with a stirring "Star-Spangled Banner" (it was the middle of World War II, remember), the orchestra alternates between favorites like "Rockin' in Rhythm" and impressionistic tone poems like the three-part "Portraits" mini-suite. The centerpiece is a brilliant presentation of Ellington's lengthy "Black, Brown and Beige," one of his most artistically satisfying extended pieces. After this tour de force, the orchestra plays a few favorites, like "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," before closing with a spirited "Mood Indigo." This two-disc concert beautifully captures all aspects of Ellington's wartime band.

  • Critic Reviews
    Jazziz (3/93, p.62) - "...contains the original full-length version of Ellington's `Black, Brown, And Beige,' one of his greatest and lengthiest works. In addition, there are plenty of specialties for Duke's many unique soloists..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.92
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for