CD The Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 3: Rhythm and Romance (CD 1146196),
back to browsing

The Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 3: Rhythm and Romance

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. African Ripples
    2. Clothes Line Ballet
    3. Alligator Crawl
    4. Viper's Drag
    5. I'm a Hundred Per Cent for You
    6. I'm a Hundred Per Cent for You - (Inst instrumental)
    7. Baby Brown
    8. Baby Brown - (Inst instrumental)
    9. Night Wind
    10. Because of Once Upon a Time
    11. I Believe in Miracles
    12. You Fit into the Picture
    13. Louisiana Fairy Tale
    14. I Ain't Got Nobody
    15. I Ain't Got Nobody - (Inst instrumental)
    16. Whose Honey Are You?
    17. Whose Honey Are You? - (Inst instrumental)
    18. Rosetta
    19. Rosetta - (Inst instrumental)
    20. Pardon My Love
    21. What's the Reason (I'm Not Pleasin' You?)
    22. What's the Reason (I'm Not Pleasin' You?) - (Inst instrumental)
    23. Cinders
    24. (Oh Suzannah) Dust Off That Old Pianna
    25. Lulu's Back in Town
    26. Sweet and Slow
    0. DISC 2:
    1. You've Been Taking Lessons in Love
    2. You're the Cutest One
    3. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
    4. Hate to Talk About Myself
    5. Dinah
    6. Take It Easy
    7. You're the Picture (I'm the Frame)
    8. My Very Good Friend the Milkman
    9. Blue Because of You
    10. There's Going to Be the Devil to Pay
    11. 12th Street Rag
    12. There'll Be Some Changes Made
    13. Somebody Stole My Gal
    14. Sweet Sue
    15. Truckin'
    16. Sugar Blues
    17. Just as Long as the World Goes 'Round and 'Round
    18. Georgia Rockin' Chair
    19. Brother, Seek and Ye Shall Find
    20. Girl I Left Behind Me, The
    21. You're So Darn Charming
    22. Woe! Is Me
    23. Rhythm and Romance
    24. Loafin' Time
    25. Sweet Beginning Like This, A
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Got a Bran' New Suit
    2. I'm on a See-Saw
    3. Thief in the Night
    4. When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful
    5. I've Got My Fingers Crossed
    6. Spreadin' Rhythm Around
    7. Little Bit Independent, A
    8. You Stayed Away Too Long
    9. Sweet Thing
    10. Fat and Greasy
    11. Functionizin'
    12. I Got Rhythm
    13. Panic Is On, The
    14. Sugar Rose
    15. Oooh! Look-A-There, Ain't She Pretty?
    16. Moon Rose
    17. West Wind
    18. That Never to Be Forgotten Night
    19. Sing an Old Fashioned Song
    20. Garbo Green
    21. All My Life
    22. Christopher Columbus
    23. Cross Patch
    24. It's No Fun
    25. Cabin in the Sky
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Us on a Bus
    2. Stay
    3. It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
    4. More I Know You, The
    5. You're Not the Kind
    6. Why Do I Lie to Myself About You?
    7. Let's Sing Again
    8. Big Chief de Sota
    9. Black Raspberry Jam
    10. Bach Up to Me
    11. Fractious Fingering
    12. Paswonky
    13. Lounging at the Waldorf
    14. Latch On
    15. I'm Crazy 'Bout My Baby
    16. I Just Made Up with That Old Girl of Mine
    17. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
    18. There Goes My Attraction
    19. Curse of an Aching Heart, The
    20. Bye, Bye, Baby
    21. Louisiana Fairy Tale
    22. Sweet Sue
    23. Lulu's Back in Town
    24. You're So Darn Charming
    25. Fat and Greasy
    26. Black Raspberry Jam
    27. Curse of an Aching Heart, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 946

  • Credits

    Personnel: Fats Waller (vocals, piano, celesta, organ, vibraphone); Fats Waller (spoken vocals); James "Hal" Smith , James Smith (guitar); Benny Morton's All Stars, Benny Morton (trombone); Harry Dial's Blusicians, Harry Dial (vibraphone, drums); Elizabeth Handy (vocals); Albert Casey (guitar); Rudy Powell (clarinet, alto saxophone); Gene Sedric (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Emmett Matthews (soprano saxophone); Bob Carroll (tenor saxophone); Herman Autrey, Bill Coleman (trumpet); Hank Duncan (piano); Arnold Boling, Slick Jones, Yank Porter (drums); Charles Turner.
    Audio Remasterer: Ted Kendall.
    Recording information: Camden, NJ (11/16/1934-08/01/1936); New York, NY (11/16/1934-08/01/1936).
    Author: Ted Kendall.
    Arrangers: Don Donaldson; Alex Hill .
    The third volume in JSP's massive library of Fats Waller's Complete Recorded Works brings together all of the commercial studio recordings he made between November 16, 1934, and August 1, 1936. The first four tracks ("African Ripples," "Clothes Line Ballet," "Alligator Crawl," and "Viper's Drag") serve as an excellent prologue, for these are some of the choicest piano solos of Waller's entire career. The other 99 selections document the explosive success of Fats Waller & His Rhythm, a powerful little sextet that found itself doubled into a 12-piece big band on "Fat and Greasy," "Functionizin'," and the riotously rowdy "I Got Rhythm." Expertly remastered and chronologically presented, Waller's works at last receive the special handling they so richly deserve. Alternate takes are stashed at the end of disc four, except for half a dozen instrumentals that served well as flip sides of the original 78-rpm platters and work even better as wordless continuations of the vocal takes: "I'm a Hundred Per Cent for You," "Baby Brown," "I Ain't Got Nobody," "Whose Honey Are You?," "Rosetta," and "What's the Reason (I'm Not Pleasin' You?)." The fourth disc also contains everything recorded at the brilliantly creative session that took place on June 8, 1936: "Black Raspberry Jam," "Bach Up to Me" (a bowed bass feature for Charles Turner), "Fractious Fingering," "Paswonky," "Lounging at the Waldorf," and "Latch On." While the previous volumes in this series are vitally important and endlessly fascinating, Vol. 3 is by far the best possible choice for anyone who wants and needs a definitive dose of Fats Waller's greatest recorded performances. ~ arwulf arwulf

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $27.25
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for