CD The New Sound/Les Paul's New Sound, Vol. 2 (CD 677522),
back to browsing

The New Sound/Les Paul's New Sound, Vol. 2

  • 1. Brazil
    2. Hip-Billy Boogie
    3. Swiss Woodpecker
    4. Caravan
    5. Sleep
    6. Lady of Spain
    7. Lover
    8. Man on the Flying Trapeze, The
    9. By the Light of the Silvery Moon
    10. What Is This Thing Called Love?
    11. Nola
    12. South
    13. In the Good Old Summertime
    14. Three Little Words
    15. Lonesome Road
    16. Chicken Reel
    17. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
    18. Carioca, The
    19. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
    20. Just One More Chance
    21. I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
    22. Moon of Manakoora, The
    23. Don' Cha Hear Them Bells
    24. Rosita, La
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2780

  • Credits

    2 LPs on 1 CD: THE NEW SOUND (1950)/THE NEW SOUND VOLUME II (1950).
    Originally released on Capitol.
    Adapter: Les Paul.
    Liner Note Author: Al Fichera.
    Arranger: Les Paul.
    Both the NEW SOUND and THE NEW SOUND VOLUME II, recorded in 1950 and 1951, respectively, and brought together here in one set, are billed as releases by Mary Ford and Les Paul. Ford takes something of a backseat on these dates, however, as most are given over to Paul's innovative, multi-tracked instrumentals. In fact, Ford is entirely absent from THE NEW SOUND, which concentrates instead on Paul's experiments with layered guitar sounds and sped-up tape speeds.
    Ford does sing on THE NEW SOUND VOLUME II, and her presence is welcome, piling additional charm onto Paul's already charming guitar pop-scapes. Though their most popular songs as a duo were yet to come, these early collaborations contain the seeds of the sound that would bring them success.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for