CD The Three Horns of Herb Steward/Marky's Vibes (CD 988104),
back to browsing

The Three Horns of Herb Steward/Marky's Vibes

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7124

  • Credits

    2 LPs on 1 CD (both originally released on Famous Door Records): THE THREE HORNS OF HERB STEWARD (1981)/MARKY'S VIBES (1976).
    The Three Horns of Herb Steward:
    Personnel: Herb Steward (reeds); Smith Dobson, Tee Carson (piano); Eddie Duran (guitar); John Mosher (bass); Eddie Moores (drums).
    Marky's Vibes:
    Personnel: Marky Markowitz (trumpet); Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Urbie Green (trombone); John Bunch (piano); Milt Hinton (bass); Mousey Alexander (drums).
    Two complete LPs from the defunct Famous Door label are reissued on this single CD, both featuring underrated horn players from the late '40s. Herbie Steward was one of Woody Herman's Four Brothers, but by the time he recorded in 1981 he was playing alto, soprano, and clarinet rather than tenor. Although he had been a studio musician for years, he could still swing well, as shown on such songs as "Take the 'A' Train" (taken as a waltz), "The Song Is You," and "Gone With the Wind." He is heard in a quintet also featuring guitarist Eddie Duran and either Smith Dobson or Tee Carson on piano. The second half of this CD features another Woody Herman veteran, trumpeter Marky Markowitz, in a sextet with trombonist Urbie Green, tenor saxophonist Al Cohn, and pianist John Bunch. Markowitz is in fine form on a few group originals, a swinging "On the Alamo," and "How Deep Is the Ocean?" This set is easily recommended to swing/bop collectors. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Jazz
  • UPC: 762247712428
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.83
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for