DVD Arcoluz [Digipak] (DVD 1176224),
back to browsing

Arcoluz [Digipak]

  • Renaud Garcia-Fons
  • DVD
  • 1 disc

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Arcoluz
    2. Berimbass
    3. Anda Loco
    4. 40 Das
    5. Gitanet
    6. Entremundo
    7. Entre Continentes
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Live Recording
    2. Interviews
    3. Making Of
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): ENJ 94782

  • Credits
    ProducerMatthias Winckelmann
    EngineerRomain Frydman; Walter Quintus

    Personnel: Negrito Trasante (drums, percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Romain Frydman; Walter Quintus.
    Recording information: Schloss Elmau, Germany.
    Editor: Romain Frydman.
    Translator: Matthias Winckelmann .
    The virtuoso five-string bassist Renaud Garcia-Fons is widely regarded, not specifically as a contemporary jazz performer, but as a man of the world who proudly wears his ethnic and classical influences on his sleeve. Arcoluz (translated as "bow of light") is a triumphant world music endeavor, using Middle Eastern sounds melded with ECM-like Eurocentric soundscapes to make new music that is at once familiar, attractively exotic, and enthralling. Also featuring acoustic guitarist Kiko Ruiz and kit drummer/percussionist Negrito Trasante, this trio extracts the best of belly dancing, late-night sance, and trance music with ritualistic underpinnings and the overview of a wise man's soul. Expert sound engineer Walter Quintus adds to the perfection of this music, and is ostensibly a fourth bandmember. These tracks flow like dark and shimmering waters moving through lengthy tributaries that branch off in rich prismatic directions, with the journey greater than the actual final colorful destination. Another identifying quality is that of intuitive improvised common sense, honed by acute listening skills and guided by a universal center that knows no prejudice, boundaries, or emotional confinement. Garcia-Fons loves to bow his bass, whether in sharp, lively pizzicato dancing tones with handclaps for "Gitanet," the stretched arco legato style that haunts the 5/4 time signature of the Middle Eastern-flavored "40 Das," or the title track, all displaying the riveting technique of the leader. The most astounding sound is that of Ruiz, in essence a flamenco guitarist who extracts oud-like sounds out of his instrument, especially when Trasante is playing Arabic hand drums. "Berimbass" is clearly a fusion of the sonic textures of the berimbau with the bass of Garcia-Fons in a simple, energetic dance piece. The 14-minute "Anda Loco" has elements of East Indian music with the bowed bass sounding more like a soaring violin, while "Entremundo" is similar to something made by John McLaughlin's Shakti, floating in time and space via a mystical mood, then deliberately waltzing. Where Garcia-Fons excels playing solo, as on "Entre Continentes" with fleet spiky or trilled phrases, he is equally regal and romantic or heated and animated in a 6/8 midsection over nearly 13 highly developed and evolved minutes. There is an accompanying DVD of these tracks filmed in concert performance, as well as interviews and sidebar shots during the making of this music, with only French subtitles. To not know Garcia-Fons is to completely miss out on one of the truly great virtuoso performers of the modern era, but it only takes a few moments of sincere listening to experience a revelation or epiphany that may well be life-changing. ~ Michael G. Nastos

  • Critic Reviews
    CMJ - "[T]he final track, 'Entre Continentes,' is a tremendous display of all three musician's talents, particularly Trasante."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.93
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you seen this movie? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for