DVD Curtis Mayfield - Live at Montreux 1987 (DVD 14157),
back to browsing

Curtis Mayfield - Live at Montreux 1987

  • NR
  • DVD
  • 1 disc
  • Region 1 USA/CA (info)
  • With his unique falsetto vocals, socially-conscious lyrics, and highly infectious grooves, the visionary Curtis Mayfield virtually pioneered the sounds of soul and funk. As part of the 1960s vocal group The Impressions, Mayfield innovated soul by writing most of the band's own material and using unconventional arrangements. But it was Mayfield's solo excursions into funk--and his unabashed championing of black pride--that broke new ground in the 1970s and culminated in his supreme achievement, the soundtrack to 1972's blaxploitation classic SUPERFLY. This concert captures Mayfield's genius in concert at the Montreux Jazz Festival in 1987, performing both The Impressions and solo work, including "Gypsy Woman," "It's Alright," "Freddie's Dead," "Pusher Man," "If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go," "Move On Up," "People Get Ready," and more.
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): EE39401-9

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $12.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you seen this movie? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for