DVD Thelonious Monk - Straight, No Chaser (DVD 47658),
back to browsing

Thelonious Monk - Straight, No Chaser

  • PG-13
  • DVD
  • 1 disc
  • Region 1 USA/CA (info)
  • This film was world premiered at the 1988 London Film Festival. Songs performed: "Evidence" "On the Bean" "'Round Midnight" "Rhythm-a-ning" "Blue Monk" "Well, You Needn't" "Bright Mississippi" "Trinkle Tinkle" "Ugly Beauty" "Just a Gigolo" "Ask Me Now" "Crepuscule with Nellie" "We See" "I Should Care" "Osaka T." "Epistrophy" "Ruby" "Don't Blame Me" "My Dear" "Lulu's Back in Town" "I Mean You" "Off Minor" "Boo Boo's Birthday" "Pannonica" "Misterioso" "Monk's Mood" "Sweetheart of All My Dreams" Malpaso is Clint Eastwood's production company. Color by DuArt. Additional credits: Stuart Math (director of photography). Also appearing in the movie are: Thelonious Monk Jr., Bob Jones, and Baroness Nica de Koenigswarter (voice only).
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 11896

  • Credits
    Thelonious Monk, Thelonious Sphere Monk, Thelonious Monk Quartet, Thelonious Monk Trio
  • Critic Reviews
    "...Remarkable....The Monk music that courses through the film is extraordinary in its range of feeling..."
    New York Times

    "...We are granted a closer glance behind the veil of this half-hidden, exotically gifted figure than could ever be observed during his sadly aborted career..."
    Los Angeles Times

    "...This solid documentary of the jazz piano legend has a remarkable genesis....It is enriched -- or rather 'made' - by rare Monk footage shot in 1967..."
    USA Today

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you seen this movie? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for