DVD Yo-Yo Ma - Inspired by Bach: The Complete Cello Suites (DVD 56432),
back to browsing

Yo-Yo Ma - Inspired by Bach: The Complete Cello Suites

  • NR
  • DVD
  • 3 discs
  • Region 1 USA/CA (info)
  • This innovative, free-range creative project finds universally acclaimed cellist Yo-Yo Ma exploring Bach's six suites for cello in six segments of interdisciplinary artistic fusion. He collaborates with a wide variety of artists from different fields in order to see Bach's work in a new light. Landscape artist Julie Moir Messervy plans a Bach-inspired Boston garden in "The Music Garden"; Italian architect Piranesi's work frames Ma's music in "The Sound of the Carceri"; Mark Morris choreographs an interpretation of the third suite in "Falling Down Stairs"; director Atom Egoyan creates a story called "Sarabande" from the emotions of the fourth suite; Kabuki actor Tamasaburo puts his own stamp on Bach in "Struggle for Hope"; and finally, in "Six Gestures," ice skaters Torvill and Dean channel their reactions to Bach's music into an ice dance. These unexpected juxtapositions can be jarring but, by the end, Ma's multifaceted examination manages to shed truly new light on the old music.
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): S3D58785

  • Credits
    Yo-Yo Ma
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $24.87
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you seen this movie? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for