CD Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 [Digipak] (CD 7011745),
back to browsing

Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 [Digipak]

    1. Road Runner
    2. Summertime
    3. I Can't Make Up My Mind
    4. Way I Feel Inside, The
    5. Work 'n' Play
    6. You've Really Got a Hold on Me
    7. She's Not There
    8. Sticks and Stones
    9. Can't Nobody Love You
    10. Woman
    11. I Don't Want to Know
    12. I Remember When I Loved Her
    13. What More Can I Do
    14. I Got My Mojo Working
    0. DISC 2: SINGLES & EPS:
    1. You Make Me Feel Good
    2. Leave Me Be
    3. Kind of Girl
    4. Sometimes
    5. It's Alright
    6. Tell Her No
    7. She's Coming Home
    8. I Must Move
    9. I Want You Back Again
    10. Whenever You're Ready
    11. I Love You
    12. Is This the Dream
    13. Don't Go Away
    14. Nothing's Changed
    15. Remember You [Soundtrack Version] [From the Film Bunny Lake Is Missing]
    16. Remember You
    17. Just Out of Reach
    18. Indication
    19. How We Were Before
    20. Gotta Get a Hold of Myself
    21. Goin' Out of My Head
    22. She Does Everything for Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): REP5179

  • Credits
    ProducerMarquis Music

    Audio Remasterer: Jon Astley.
    Liner Note Authors: John Tracy ; Rod Argent.
    Recording information: 06/??/1964-11/10/1965.
    Of the literally dozens of memorable bands that emerged from the British Beat scene in the early to mid-'60s, the Zombies were one act that stood out: there was a smart, slightly arty aura to their clever and beautifully crafted melodies, superb vocal harmonies, and a distinct instrumental sound, highlighted by Rod Argent's keyboard work, often using electric piano to memorable effect. Even when the Zombies rocked out or sunk into a tough R&B groove, they could convey a keen intelligence along with their energy, and their more introspective moments gave them a sound and feel that was unique. As good as they were, the Zombies didn't have much luck on the charts -- while "She's Not There" and "Tell Her No" were hits in 1965, most of their subsequent recordings attracted little notice on initial release, and some of the band's finest work was barely heard in its day. Begin Here: The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 confirms how baffling this is in retrospect. It includes the group's 1965 album Begin Here as well as 22 songs that appeared on singles and EPs, and it's disc two, with those non-LP sides, that makes the case for the Zombies' strengths. The album was divided half and half between covers and originals; all but two of the extra tracks are group originals, and Rod Argent and guitarist Chris White were excellent songwriters, crafting top-notch pop and R&B tunes with a clever twist, and if lead singer Colin Blunstone didn't write as much material, the songs that appear here are fine stuff. The group clearly knew how to make their music work in the studio, and the crisp monophonic remastering by Jon Astley gives these recordings plenty of punch without blurring the sonic details. The Complete Decca Mono Recordings 1964-1967 preserves a great group in their heyday, and John Tracy's liner notes and a beautifully designed package make this as much a treat for the eyes as for the ears. Short of picking up the box set Zombie Heaven, you're not going to find a much better presentation of this band's Decca years than this. ~ Mark Deming

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.35
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for