CD Definitive Collection [Recall] (CD 957457),
back to browsing

Definitive Collection [Recall]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Runaway
    2. Running Scared
    3. Hats Off to Larry
    4. (Marie's the Name) His Latest Flame
    5. I Wake Up Crying
    6. Cold, Cold Heart
    7. Crying
    8. So Long Baby
    9. Runaround Sue
    10. Hey Little Girl
    11. Hey Baby
    12. Dream Baby
    13. She Cried
    14. She Thinks I Still Care
    15. Cry Myself to Sleep
    16. Swiss Maid, The
    17. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)
    18. Go Away Little Girl
    19. Your Cheatin' Heart
    20. Little Town Flirt
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Ruby Baby
    2. Two Kinds of Teardrops
    3. Kelly
    4. Twist and Shout
    5. From Me to You
    6. Two Silhouettes
    7. Sue's Gotta Be Mine
    8. Needles and Pins
    9. Mary Jane
    10. Sorry (I Ran All the Way Home)
    11. World Without Love, A
    12. Memphis
    13. Rag Doll
    14. Handy Man
    15. Do You Want to Dance?
    16. I'm Gonna Be Strong
    17. Keep Searchin' (We'll Follow the Sun)
    18. I Go to Pieces
    19. Stranger in Town
    20. Break Up
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 197

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Roger Dopson.
    Though the import Charly collection, which also calls itself The Definitive Collection goes a lot deeper with 20 tracks' worth, this double-disc set by Recall is nothing to sneeze at. First off, there are 40 tunes here, and virtually every major and regional hit Del Shannon recorded. Secondly, in comparison, there is a lot less album fodder, which is especially useful when considering Shannon recorded primarily during an era in which the single was king, maybe two, and virtually everything else was used to fill up LP sides. Shannon was a covers artist; he was a singer of rock and pop songs used to fill jukeboxes, late night radio, and hits collections issued by various personality DJs. His one monster smash, "Runaway," was written by Max Crook and issued in 1961. It was a long hard road down after that, but Shannon was able to ride the rock & roll slide for quite awhile, scoring to a lesser degree with his own "Hats Off to Larry," and "So Long Baby," a cover of Dion's "Runaround Sue," and Doc Pomus' "(Marie's The Name) of His Latest Flame," to name a few. (Why the late Pomus' amazing "You Never Talked About Me" isn't included is a mystery considering it is the definitive' performance of the tune and scored higher on the charts than any other version.) There are great songs included in this mix, such as Shannon's "I Go to Pieces," Barry Mann's "I'm Gonna Be Strong," Otis Blackwell's "Handy Man," and an excellent version of Sonny Bono's "Needles and Pins," which may not be Jackie DeShannon's version but is far better than many of the others out there. Recommended. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for