CD Each One Teach One [Oneida] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1002585),
back to browsing

Each One Teach One [Oneida] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sheets of Easter
    2. Antibiotics
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Each One Teach One
    2. People of the North
    3. Number Nine
    4. Sneak Into the Woods
    5. Rugaru
    6. Black Chamber
    7. No Label
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 48

  • Credits
    EngineerOneida; Peter Katis

    Personnel: Phil Ballman (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Peter Katis.
    Recording information: High Five Studios; Tarquin Studios.
    The band's last album as a quartet, this sprawling double-disc set released in 2002 finds Oneida in classic form, and upping the ante on their already heady mix of minimalist psych and epic space rock. From word one, EACH ONE TEACH ONE sets off for the stratosphere, as the band pummels a single chord overlaid by a single word ("light") into ecstatic oblivion. It's difficult to imagine how a band can bounce back for the remaining 75 percent of an album after destroying listeners with an opener as intense as "Sheets of Easter" (which takes up all of side one on the vinyl version), but the band succeeds by delivering the frenetic 16-minute-plus synth/drum workout "Antibiotics." The remainder of the album is made up of songs with slightly more manageable lengths but no less inspired concepts. The title track pulses with Oneida's trademark screaming classic-rock riffage by way of German Motorik; "People of the North" recalls the Silver Apples; and "Black Chamber" takes a funky, almost Band-like groove and mutates it with all manner of sonic bells and whistles. If Oneida had called it quits with EACH ONE TEACH ONE, it might very well have been their masterpiece; that they went on to expand and develop even further as a unit, speaks volumes about one of the most interesting bands of the early 21st century.

  • Critic Reviews
    Magnet (1/03, pp.101-2) - "...Bold....The music reveals its beauty with reverberations....A fully formed, mostly instrumental psych masterpiece by a quartet at the peak of its game, unafraid to build entire songs on repetition..."
    CMJ (11/25/02, p.7) - "...Oneida construct a behemoth of heavy psych rock..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (1/03, p.75) - Ranked #4 in Mojo's "Best Underground Albums of 2002"
    Mojo (Publisher) (11/02, p.93) - "...Some of the most inspired psychedelic mayhem this side of Acid Mothers Temple or Butthole Surfers at the peak of their powers."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.77
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for