CD Live At Montreux 1995 [Dr. John] [826992007823] (CD 1060225),
back to browsing

Live At Montreux 1995 [Dr. John] [826992007823]

    1. Iko Iko
    2. Renegade
    3. Come on (Let the Good Times Roll)
    4. Tell Me You'll Wait For Me
    5. Blue Skies
    6. Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You
    7. Right Place, Wrong Time
    8. Makin' Whoopee
    9. Goin' Back to New Orleans
    10. The Big Bass Drum (On A Mardi Gras Day) / I Shall Not Be Moved
    11. Mess Around
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 20078

  • Credits

    Personnel: Dr. John (vocals, guitar, piano); Robert Broom (guitar, background vocals); Alvin "Red" Tyler, Ronnie Cuber (saxophone); Charlie Miller (trumpet); David Barard (bass instrument, background vocals); Herman V. Ernest III (drums); Smiley Ricks (percussion, background vocals).
    New Orleans good-time ambassador Dr. John brings some Crescent City groove to the Montreux Jazz Festival on this rollicking live recording. Over time Dr. John has evolved from his freaky, voodoo-doctor persona of the 1970s into a suit-and-tie-wearing crooner, yet he still manages to deliver plenty of his irresistible vocal growl and down-and-dirty swamp-funk.
    The opening cut, "Iko Iko," is a New Orleans signature song, and Dr. John puts equal love and energy into versions of standards ("Blue Skies," "Makin' Whoopee"), classic blues ("Come On [Let the Good Times Roll]"), and his own hits ("Right Place, Wrong Time"). A crack, professional backing band keeps things moving smoothly, but Dr. John's scruffy singing and dynamic ivory-tickling are center-stage throughout.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for