CD Loaded [Fully Loaded Edition] (CD 530800),
back to browsing

Loaded [Fully Loaded Edition]

    1. Who Loves the Sun
    2. Sweet Jane - (full-length version)
    3. Rock & Roll - (full-length version)
    4. Cool It Down
    5. New Age - (long version)
    6. Head Held High
    7. Lonesome Cowboy Bill
    8. I Found a Reason
    9. Train Round the Bend
    10. Oh! Sweet Nuthin'
    11. Ride into the Sun - (demo)
    12. Ocean - (outtake)
    13. I'm Sticking With You - (previously unreleased, outtake)
    14. I Love You - (demo)
    15. Rock & Roll - (Alternate Mix, previously unreleased)
    16. Head Held High - (Alternate Mix, previously unreleased)
    1. Who Loves the Sun - (Alternate Mix, previously unreleased)
    2. Sweet Jane - (previously unreleased, early version)
    3. Rock & Roll - (previously unreleased, demo)
    4. Cool It Down - (previously unreleased, early version)
    5. New Age - (previously unreleased, full-length version)
    6. Head Held High - (previously unreleased, early version)
    7. Lonesome Cowboy Bill - (previously unreleased, early version)
    8. I Found a Reason - (previously unreleased, demo)
    9. Train Round the Bend - (Alternate Mix, previously unreleased)
    10. Oh! Sweet Nuthin' - (previously unreleased, early version)
    11. Ocean - (previously unreleased, demo)
    12. I Love You - (previously unreleased, outtake)
    13. Satellite of Love - (previously unreleased, alternate take, alternate demo)
    14. Oh Gin - (demo)
    15. Walk and Talk - (demo)
    16. Sad Song - (demo)
    17. Love Makes You Feel Ten Feet Tall - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 72563

  • Credits
    EngineerAdrian Barber; Adrian Barber; Geoffrey Haslam

    Velvet Underground: Lou Reed (vocals, guitar, piano); Doug Yule (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, piano, organ, bass, drums); Sterling Morrison (guitar); Moe Tucker (drums).
    Additional personnel: Tommy, Bill Yule, Adrian Barber (percussion).
    Producers: Geoffrey Haslam, Shel Kagan, The Velvet Underground.
    LOADED (THE FULLY LOADED EDITION) is a greatly expanded version of the Velvet Underground's 1970 album LOADED. Disc 1 includes the original album along with outtakes, demos and alternate mixes. Disc 2 - the "Alternate Album" - repeats the sequence of songs from the original album using demos and alternate versions, and adds more demos and outtakes from the same sessions.
    The Velvet Underground: Lou Reed (vocals, guitar, piano, harmonica); Doug Yule (vocals, guitar, piano, organ, bass, drums, percussion); Maureen "Moe" Tucker (vocals, percussion); Sterling Morrison (guitar).
    Additional personnel: Tommy Castanaro, Bill Yule, Adrian Barber (percussion).
    Producers: Geoffrey Haslam, Shel Kagan, The Velvet Underground, Adrian Barber.
    Reissue producers: Bill Inglot, Patrick Milligan.
    Principally recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, New York in spring and summer 1970. Originally released on Cotillion (9034). INcludes liner notes by David Fricke.
    The Velvet Underground: Lou Reed (guitar); Doug Yule (bass instrument, background vocals); John Cale, Maureen Tucker, Sterling Morrison.
    Personnel: Doug Yule (vocals, guitar, piano, organ, drums, percussion); Lou Reed (vocals, harmonica, piano); Maureen Tucker (vocals, percussion); Sterling Morrison (guitar); John Cale (organ); Adrian Barber, Billy Yule (percussion).
    Additional personnel: Tommy Castanaro (percussion); Adrian Barber, Billy Yule.
    Audio Remixer: Bill Inglot.
    Recording information: Atlantic Recording Studio, New York, NY (04/15/1970-04/16/1970).
    Illustrator: Stanislaw Zagorski.
    Photographer: Jim Cummins.
    LOADED was a fitting end for the mighty Velvet Underground. Lou Reed had penned an album seemingly packed with hits, but by now, four LPs into the Velvets' career, only a sad few record buyers appreciated the band. Resignation permeates the album. Reed's voice is noticeably ragged, and bassist Doug Yule ended up recording many of the vocals for the final mix. Drummer Moe Tucker was pregnant, and Yule's brother Billy sat in on drums for most of the sessions. This was no longer the art rock Velvet Underground, but a far more accessible version, relying on Reed's songwriting over the band's overall musicality. Yet LOADED is arguably VU's most immediately satisfying album. Less overtly experimental than any of their other releases, the record still overflows with hooks, churning grooves and Lou Reed's irresistibly unique pop sensibility. In addition to the certifiable rock classics "Sweet Jane" and "Rock & Roll" (which alone should elevate the album into the rock pantheon), there are shiny, ironic ditties ("Who Loves the Sun"), cool, folk-rocking groovers ("Cool It Down"), and beautiful, weary ballads ("Oh! Sweet Nuthin'"). LOADED shimmers and gleams for all of its finality. While the album closed the book on the Velvet Underground's life, it also solidified their significant niche in rock history.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.120) - Ranked #109 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[A] record that highlights the R&B/doo-wop roots and Sun Records crackle deep inside the Velvets' noir-guitar maelstrom..."
    Rolling Stone (12/24/70, p.51) - "...LOADED is merely a refinement of the Velvet Underground's music as it has grown through the course of their past three albums....[it's] a celebration of the spirit of rock 'n' roll..."
    Q (7/93, p.115) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...a laudable album. 'Sweet Jane' and 'Rock & Roll' are the pivotal tracks but the lovely harmonies of 'I Found A Reason' and the extended workout of 'Oh! Sweet Nuthin'' stand proud as peak Velvets..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for