CD Love, God, Murder [3 CD] [Box] (CD 396956),
back to browsing

Love, God, Murder [3 CD] [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: LOVE:
    1. I Walk the Line - (mono)
    2. Oh, What a Dream
    3. All Over Again
    4. Little at a Time
    5. My Old Faded Rose
    6. Happiness Is You
    7. Flesh and Blood
    8. I Tremble for You
    9. I Feel Better All Over
    10. 'Cause I Love You
    11. Ballad of Barbara
    12. Ring of Fire
    13. My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You
    14. While I've Got It on My Mind
    15. I Still Miss Someone
    16. One Rose, The (That's Left in My Heart) - (mono)
    0. DISC 2: GOD:
    1. What on Earth Will You Do (For Heaven's Sake)
    2. My God is Real
    3. It Was Jesus
    4. Why Me Lord? - (mono)
    5. Greatest Cowboy of Them All, The
    6. Redemption - (mono)
    7. Great Speckled Bird
    8. Old Account, The
    9. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
    10. When He Comes
    11. Kneeling Drunkard's Plea, The
    12. Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?
    13. Man in White
    14. Belshazzar - (mono)
    15. Oh, Bury Me Not (Introduction: A Cowboy's Prayer) - (mono)
    16. Oh Come, Angel Band
    0. DISC 3: MURDER:
    1. Folsom Prison Blues - (mono)
    2. Delia's Gone - (mono)
    3. Mr. Garfield
    4. Orleans Parish Prison
    5. When It's Springtime in Alaska (It's Forty Below) - (mono)
    6. Sound of Laughter, The
    7. Cocaine Blues
    8. Hardin Wouldn't Run - (mono)
    9. Long Black Veil
    10. Austin Prison
    11. Joe Bean
    12. Going to Memphis
    13. Don't Take Your Guns to Town
    14. Highway Patrolman
    15. Jacob Green
    16. Wall, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 63809

  • Credits

    The CDs included in this box set are also available separately. LOVE, GOD, MURDER also includes previously unreleased material.
    Personnel includes: Johnny Cash (vocals, guitar); June Carter Cash (vocals).
    Producers include: Sam Phillips, Don Law, Frank Jones, Jack Clement, Rick Rubin.
    Compilation producer: Johnny Cash.
    Includes liner notes by Johnny Cash, Bono, June Carter Cash and Quentin Tarantino.
    Digitally remastered by Darcy M. Proper (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
    Liner Note Author: Johnny Cash.
    This three CD package is John R. "Johnny" Cash's compilation of his own past recordings containing three unifying themes towering over his body of work (and for that matter, most of music and literature): love, God, and murder. LOVE begins with the devotional love song "I Walk the Line," and takes us to lesser-known gems: Bob Wills' "My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You" and "All Over Again." GOD asserts Cash's faith in a Higher Power; most of the tunes here are well known, such as "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot" and "My God is Real," but there's also the novel "The Greatest Cowboy of Them All." MURDER collects songs about desperate, haunted, impulsive and downright evil men, who realize far too late the error of their ways: "Delia's Gone," "Don't Take Your Guns to Town" and the eerie "The Sound of Laughter." Unlike some, Johnny Cash doesn't glorify or romanticize these dark characters.
    Each disc has both its own liner notes by Cash and notes from admirers, including U2's Bono, director/screenwriter Quentin Tarantino and Cash's wife, June Carter Cash. These, along with a few previously unreleased songs and deluxe packaging, make this compilation a must-have for Cash fans and neophytes alike.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (6/22/00, pp.130-2) - 4.5 stars out of 5 - "...Less a comprehensive summation of his work than an examination of the forces that shaped and ruled Cash's mythic Americana....Cash creates phrases that sound like more than music. They're moments of truth."
    Entertainment Weekly (5/26/00, p.75) - "...All 3 discs are a delight, and the thematic organization is a great idea..." - Rating: A
    Q (8/00, p.115) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Johnny Cash: tougher than the rest."
    CMJ (5/29/00, p.26) - " is a portrait of Cash's career as Cash himself sees essential addition to any fan's collection."
    No Depression (5-6/00, p.105) - "...This is the stuff of pure unadulterated genius....This box shows you how Cash did it. And why we're glad he did."
    Mojo (Publisher) (8/00, p.114) - "...Simply superb..."
    NME (Magazine) (12/30/00, p.79) - Ranked #2 in NME's "Top 5 Compilations Of The Year".
    NME (Magazine) (6/17/00, p.42) - 9 out of 10 - "...This is a seductively packaged set...from the icon of country cool and patron saint of Nick Cave..."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.79) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "A reverential release, reinforcing the dignity of one of America's greatest storytellers."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $29.60
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for