CD Tracks [Box] (CD 404372),
back to browsing

Tracks [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mary Queen of Arkansas - (demo version)
    2. It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City - (demo version)
    3. Growin' Up - (demo version)
    4. Does This Bus Stop at 82nd Street? - (demo version)
    5. Bishop Danced - (live, at Max's Kansas City)
    6. Santa Ana
    7. Seaside Bar Song
    8. Zero and Blind Terry
    9. Linda Let Me Be the One
    10. Thundercrack
    11. Rendezvous
    12. Give the Girl a Kiss
    13. Iceman
    14. Bring on the Night
    15. So Young and So in Love
    16. Hearts of Stone
    17. Don't Look Back
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Restless Nights
    2. Good Man Is Hard to Find, A
    3. Roulette - (B-Side To "One Step Up")
    4. Doll House
    5. Where the Bands Are
    6. Loose Ends
    7. Living on the Edge of the World
    8. Wages of Sin
    9. Take 'Em as They Come
    10. Be True - (B-Side To "Fade Away")
    11. Ricky Wants a Man of Her Own
    12. I Wanna Be With You
    13. Mary Lou
    14. Stolen Car
    15. Born in the U.S.A.
    16. Johnny Bye Bye
    17. Shut Out the Light - (B-Side To "Born In The U.S.A.")
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Cynthia
    2. My Love Will Not Let You Down
    3. This Hard Land
    4. Frankie
    5. TV Movie
    6. Stand on It - (B-Side To "Glory Days")
    7. Lion's Den
    8. Car Wash
    9. Rockaway the Days
    10. Brothers Under the Bridge - ('83)
    11. Man at the Top
    12. Pink Cadillac - (B-Side To "Dancing In The Dark")
    13. Two for the Road - (B-Side To "Tunnel Of Love")
    14. Janey, Don't You Lose Heart - (B-Side To "I'm Going Down")
    15. When You Need Me
    16. Wish, The
    17. Honeymooners, The
    18. Lucky Man - (B-Side To "Brilliant Disguise")
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Leavin' Train
    2. Seven Angels
    3. Gave it a Name
    4. Sad Eyes
    5. My Lover Man
    6. Over the Rise
    7. When the Lights Go Out
    8. Loose Change
    9. Trouble in Paradise
    10. Happy
    11. Part Man, Part Monkey
    12. Goin' Cali
    13. Back in Your Arms
    14. Brothers Under the Bridge
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 69475

  • Credits
    ProducerChuck Plotkin; John Hammond, Jr.; Jim Cretecos; Jon Landau; Mike Appel; Steven Van Zandt; John Hammond; Bruce Springsteen
    EngineerJimmy Iovine; Louis Lehav; Neil Dorfsman; Toby Scott

    TRACKS includes 56 previously unreleased masters, many of which were recorded during the BORN IN THE U.S.A. and THE RIVER sessions, as well as ten B-sides.
    Personnel includes: Bruce Springsteen, Miami Steve Van Zandt, Clarence Clemons, Roy Bittan, Garry Tallent, Max Weinberg, Danny Federici, Nils Lofgren.
    Includes liner notes by Bruce Springsteen.
    All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
    Personnel: Bruce Springsteen (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Nils Lofgren (vocals); Steven Van Zandt (guitar); Marty Rifkin (dobro); Soozie Tyrell (violin); Danny Federici (accordion, organ, glockenspiel); Clarence Clemons (saxophone, percussion); Mario Cruz, Jerry Vivino (tenor saxophone); Edward Manion (baritone saxophone); Michael Spengler, Mark Pender (trumpet); David Sancious (piano, organ, keyboards); Roy Bittan (piano, keyboards); Ian McLagan (organ); Gary Mallaber, Vini Lopez, Jeff Porcaro, Max Weinberg, Omar Hakim, Shawn Pelton (drums); Frank Pagano, Michael Fisher (percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Chuck Plotkin; Ed Thacker; Jimmy Iovine; Thom Panunzio; Bob Clearmountain.
    Liner Note Author: Bruce Springsteen.
    Recording information: 914 Sound Recordings (05/03/1972-08/24/1998); CBS Studios, NY (05/03/1972-08/24/1998); Max's Kansas City (05/03/1972-08/24/1998); Power Station (05/03/1972-08/24/1998); Record Plant, NY (05/03/1972-08/24/1998); Thrill Hill Recordi (05/03/1972-08/24/1998).
    Photographers: Herb Ritts; Jim Marchese; Frank Stefanko; Pamela Springsteen; David Gahr; Peter Cunningham; Eric Meola; Fred Lombardi; Neal Preston; Annie Leibovitz; David Rose; Mike O'Neil; Joel Bernstein.
    This handsomely packaged box set goes a long way towards illuminating the darker corners of Springsteen's recording career. Apparently, almost every time the Boss went into the studio he recorded more songs than he could possibly fit onto a record, and most of those extra tracks languished in obscurity. The four-disc TRACKS aims to change that. The amazing thing about the never-before-heard material here (and the little-known b-sides also included) is that most of the songs are just as impressive as the ones ultimately chosen to go on Springsteen's albums. Spanning various phases of his career, the selections chronicle Springsteen's journey from Dylan-inspired folk-poet to funky working class hero to larger-than-life rock icon, and each era is given a new coat of paint via the previously unreleased songs that represent it. Of special note is the innovative manner in which the package itself was put together, the box folding out to reveal a four-cornered tapestry of candid Springsteen photographs that pull out to expose the four glorious discs underneath.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (11/13/98, pp.72-73) - "...for all TRACKS' padding, it is disarming to hear rock delviered with such unbridled earnestness and positive energy, gleefully drunk on its own power to elevate musicians and audiences alike...." - Rating: B
    Q (1/00, p.87) - Included in Q Magazine's "50 Best Albums of 1999."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $39.71
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for