CD My Baby Just Cares for Me [Nina Simone] [CD] [1 disc] [8436539310099] (CD 7052892),
back to browsing

My Baby Just Cares for Me [Nina Simone] [CD] [1 disc] [8436539310099]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3931009

  • Credits

    Contains 10 of the 11 songs from the 1959 LP LITTLE GIRL BLUE, also known as THE FINEST OF NINA SIMONE - plus 1 additional song.
    This budget-priced compilation issued via Verve's Jazz Club imprint spotlights Nina Simone's mid-'60s stint with the Philips label, the creative tipping point of the singer's storied career. Expanding the grammar of jazz by introducing elements of folk, soul, and pop, at Philips Simone redefined both her music and her place in music, making forever obsolete the stereotypes that long straitjacketed the role of women in American popular art. For the most part, My Baby Just Cares for Me eschews Simone's most fiery political statements in favor of more intimate and idiosyncratic work -- listeners seeking a truly comprehensive portrait are recommended the excellent Four Women: The Complete Nina Simone Philips Recordings, but this single-disc overview hits many of the high points, including "Old Jim Crow," "Work Song," and "Feeling Good." ~ Jason Ankeny

  • Critic Reviews
    Stereophile (2/93, p.119) - "...Simone shows an impressive ability to get emotions across...a wonderful album to snuggle up with with someone late at night..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Pop
  • Label: Ais 131509
  • Distributor: MVD
  • Analog/Digital: DDD
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 8436539310099
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.39
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for