CD Sings the George and Ira Gershwin Song Book [CD] [1 disc] (CD 6655264),
back to browsing

Sings the George and Ira Gershwin Song Book [CD] [1 disc]

  • 0. DISC 2:
    1. Looking For A Boy
    2. They All Laughed
    3. My Cousin In Milwaukee
    4. Somebody From Somewhere
    5. Foggy Day, A
    6. Clap Yo' Hands
    7. For You For Me For Evermore
    8. Stiff Upper Lip
    9. Boy Wanted
    10. Strike Up The Band
    11. Soon
    12. I've Got A Crush On You
    13. Bidin' My Time
    14. Aren't You Kind Of Glad We Did
    15. Of Thee I Sing (Baby)
    16. 'The Half Of It Dearie' Blues
    17. I Was Doing All Right
    18. He Loves And She Loves
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Love Is Sweeping The Country
    2. Treat Me Rough
    3. Our Love Is Here To Stay
    4. Slap That Bass
    5. Isn't It A Pity
    6. Shall We Dance
    7. Love Walked In
    8. You've Got What Gets Me
    9. They Can't Take That Away From Me
    10. Embraceable You
    11. I Can't Be Bothered Now
    12. Boy What Love Has Done To Me
    13. Fascinating Rhythm
    14. Funny Face
    15. Lorelei
    16. Oh So Nice
    17. Let's Kiss And Make Up
    18. I Got Rhythm
    19. Somebody Loves Me
    20. Cheerful Little Earful
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): NOT3CD040

  • Credits

    This box set includes the tracks originally released on ELLA FITZGERALD SINGS GEORGE & IRA GERSHWIN SONG BOOK on LP, as well as previously unissued and bonus tracks.
    Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Nelson Riddle (arranger, conductor); Benny Carter, Ted Nash, Ronnie Lang (alto saxophone); Plas Johnson (tenor saxophone); Pete Condoli, Don Fagerquist, Mannie Klein, Dale McMickle, Shorty Sherock, Cappy Lewis (trumpet); Vincent DeRosa (French horn); Israel Baker, Teddy Pederson (trombone); Karl DeKarske (bass trombone); Ed Gilbert (tuba); Buddy Collette, Jewell Grant, William Green, Champ Webb, Harry Klee (woodwinds); Katherine Julyie (harp); Paul Smith, Loe Levy (piano); Herb Ellis, Barney Kessel (guitar); Joe Mondragon, Joe Comfort, Ralph Pena (bass); Mel Lewis, Alvin Stoller (drums); Larry Bunker, Frank Flynn (percussion).
    Producer: Norman Granz.
    Reissue producers: Michael Lang, Ben Young.
    Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California between January 5 and August 20, 1959. Discs one, two and three originally released on Verve (6082-5). Includes liner notes by Lawrence D. Stewart, Ben Young, Phil Bailey and Milt Bernhart.
    Digitally remastered by Chris Herles using 20-bit technology from the original master tapes (Polygram Studios).
    This is part of the Verve Master Edition series.
    The paradox of Ella Fitzgerald's prominence in the history of jazz singing and her lack of emotional intensity is much less apparent on this album. George Gershwin's affinity with jazz, and the corresponding delight jazz musicians take in performing his material, allow the singer to fly with the music. As for brother Ira's lyrics, they receive their due as cheerful, tender and always delightful examples of the lyricist's art. The Songbook series remains one of Ella Fitzgerald's major contributions--among many--to American popular music and this in particular is one of the best of the sizeable bunch.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.06
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for