CD 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Jeffrey Osborne (CD 889103),
back to browsing

20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Jeffrey Osborne

  • 1. You Should Be Mine (The Woo Woo Song)
    2. On the Wings of Love
    3. I Really Don't Need No Light
    4. Don't You Get So Mad
    5. Stay With Me Tonight
    6. Plane Love - (12" version)
    7. We're Going All the Way
    8. Last Time I Made Love, The
    9. Don't Stop
    10. Borderlines, The
    11. She's on the Left
    12. Love Power
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 493303

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Jeffrey Osborne (vocals, arranger); Dionne Warwick,
    Joyce Kennedy (vocals); George Duke, George Del Barrio, David "Hawk" Wolinski (arranger).
    Producers: Richard Perry, George Duke, Jeffrey Osbourne, Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager.
    Compilation producer: Mike Ragogna.
    Recorded between 1982 & 1988. Includes liner notes by Scott Schnider.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    This is part of A&M Records "20th Century Masters The Millenium Collection" series.
    Audio Remixer: Larry Levan.
    Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
    Photographer: Victoria Pearson.
    Jeffrey Osborne's edition of 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection is an excellent summary of the smooth quiet storm singer's peak period -- namely, the years between 1982 and 1988, when he was constantly turning out hits for A&M records. The biggest of these hits -- "On the Wings of Love," "Stay With Me Tonight," "Don't You Get So Mad," "You Should Be Mine," and "She's on the Left" among them -- helped make him one of the most popular R&B singers of his era, and they remain some of the classiest, best urban soul of its era; they've aged remarkably well, thanks in part to the polished production, but mainly thanks to Osborne's supple voice. There may be more extensive compilations on the market -- such as 1999's Ultimate Collection on Hip-O -- but this provides a sweet, succinct, satisfying summary of his solo peak. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $5.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for