CD At His Best [Melvin Smith] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1236399),
back to browsing

At His Best [Melvin Smith] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Up on the Hill
    2. School Boy Blues
    3. Reliefin' Blues
    4. They Ain't Gonna Tell It Right
    5. Rampaging Mama
    6. Homesick Blues
    7. Come Back My Darlin'
    8. Real True Gal
    9. Everybody's Got the Blues
    10. I Remember
    11. California Baby
    12. Looped
    13. Baby I'll Be There
    14. I'm Out of My Mind
    15. Woman Trainer
    16. Businessman's Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sarah Kelly
    2. Six Times Six
    3. Call Me Darling (Call Me Sweetheart, Call Me Dear)
    4. What's Become of Me
    5. Hot Ziggety Zag
    6. Letter to My Baby
    7. I Don't Have to Hunt No More
    8. Every Pound
    9. Miss Brown
    10. I Feel Like Going Home
    11. It Went Down Easy
    12. Why Do Things Have to Be
    13. Things You Oughta Know
    14. No Baby
    15. You Can't Stay Here
    16. Crazy Baby
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0000015703

  • Credits
    ProducerDanny Kessler; Joe Thomas; Stephen H. Sholes; Richard Weize (Reissue)

    Personnel: Melvin Smith (vocals, guitar).
    Liner Note Author: Billy Vera.
    Illustrators: Galen Gart; Melvin Smith; Billy Vera.
    Photographers: Galen Gart; Melvin Smith; Billy Vera.
    Only Bear Family Records would think of bringing out a two-CD set of the complete early-'50s sides of an artist who never had a single record on the charts. The 32 RCA-Victor sides here are all good, and a few, like "School Boy Blues," "Reliefin' Blues," "Rampaging Mama," and "Looped" (all from just the first disc) are as fine examples of R&B as you can find during that era. The first eight songs comprise Melvin Smith's recording history fronting Blow Top Lynn & His House Rockers, who play a hard, sax-driven brand of R&B (with some romping piano by Tom Patton and a hot trumpet solo by W.M. Bostic on "Reliefin' Blues"), with at least one song ("They Ain't Gonna Tell It Right") that sounds like a lost Louis Jordan classic -- not bad for a 15-year-old vocalist. The second four sides are smoother than the first, and the best of them, "Rampaging Mama," is a masterpiece. He was nearly as strong on slow songs like Lynn's "Homesick Blues" as he was on the jump numbers like "Rampaging Mama," calling up images of Roy Brown at his best. His own "Everybody's Got the Blues" is a pretty impressive piece of songwriting for a 16-year-old, as well as a great number. "Looped" and the other New York-recorded numbers show greater sophistication than the earlier Atlanta songs -- they're smooth and their sound is nice and spread out, with lots of room for electric guitar, a solid jazz-type backup on trumpets and trombones, and a really "produced" sound that brings out the most powerful and expressive sides of Smith's singing. He was about the same age as Little Richard -- who also recorded for RCA around this time -- but a more developed artist. "Baby I'll Be There" is a beautiful R&B ballad, and gives Smith a chance to stretch out vocally, which he exploits to the fullest, while "I'm Out of My Mind" is the kind of jumping, honking blues number that probably brought many a house down at his shows during this era. "Business Man's Blues," which closes Disc One, is one of eight 1994 discoveries unearthed here for the first time. Even the weakest track here, "Sarah Kelly," has a great beat and a lusty, raunchy performance by Smith, marred only by the pop singers handling the choruses. "Six Times Six," by contrast, from the very same session, is the kind of lusty number that lots of white kids started tuning in to black radio stations to hear around this time. The later tracks, from 1953-1954, are good as recordings, with Smith's voice finally sounding almost larger-than-life on numbers of "I Don't Have to Hunt No More" and "Every Pound," although the songs themselves lack the quality of the 1951-1952 sessions. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $29.97
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for