CD Cafe Roma, Vol. 2 [Digipak] [030206042122] (CD 140387),
back to browsing

Cafe Roma, Vol. 2 [Digipak] [030206042122]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Tema de la Onda - Aldemaro Romero/Nicola Conte
    2. 3ZOZO12 - Guido Pistocchi/Lorraine Bowen/Fabio Nobile
    3. Siempre - Monorama
    4. Caf Caldo - Mazachigno
    5. Good Bye - Spira
    6. From Paris to Rio - Latin Vibe
    7. Spirit in the Yellow Sound - Do Mori
    8. Ilusoes - Jim Porto/Themis/Barriere
    9. Jet Set - Daniele Luppi
    10. It's a New Day - Time Passing
    11. Last Flight to Rome - Mazachigno
    12. By Night - Vibraphile
    13. Electrostatic - Urban Chill
    14. Magic Soleil - Cool Water
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Maracana' - Bungalove (Main Mix)
    2. St. Denis Ceara - Mona Gadlha/Various Artists (Panaphonic Remix)
    3. Fly in the Sky - Pauline London (Main Mix)
    4. Salsera - Barrio Jazz Gang (Crisp Remix)
    5. Love Can Sing - Pauline London
    6. Espuma Bossa - Litiana Gimenez/Panaphonic
    7. Tropical Man's Revenge
    8. Clave, La - L.E.D.
    9. What a Difference a Day Makes - Dynamic 4/Various Artists
    10. Blue Bossa Blano - Banda Nova
    11. Spectrum - Barrio Jazz Gang
    12. Cosmic Odissey - Spacestar (Nujazz Remix)
    13. Walkin Sofa - L.E.D.
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 060421

  • Credits
    ProducerDaniele Luppi; Ricky Rocco; Dom Scuteri; Nelson Angelo; Urban Chill

    Audio Mixer: Ricky Rocco.
    Photographer: Rod Linnum.
    Arranger: Ricky Rocco.
    Though this budget-priced two-disc compilation is billed as "an Italian jazz & lounge experience," you'd be hard-pressed to guess that it has anything to do with Italy based on the music itself, most of which sounds much more Brazilian or Cuban than anything else. A few tracks are actually sung in Italian and credited to Italian musicians, but since a bunch of others are sung in Portuguese, you have to really be paying attention to catch the linguistic switch. Still, what matters here isn't nationality; what matters is whether the music grooves, and that it does. Everything has a jazzy, swinging feel and just a faint whiff of European movie soundtracks from the 1960s, and even if regional favorites like Nicola Conte and Giacomo Bondi are unfamiliar names here in the States, no one with a pulse will be able to resist the hip-swaying charms of much of this program. Among the highlights are a fine adaption of the jazz standard "What a Difference a Day Makes," performed by Dynamic 4, and the invigorating (if misspelled) "Cosmic Odissey" by Spacestar. Things do occasionally get a bit soft in the middle, as on Vibraphile's enervatingly smooth "By Night," but for the most part this is stuff that will liven up any party. Recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.45
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for