CD Greatest [Bee Gees] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [081227996680] (CD 1144744),
back to browsing

Greatest [Bee Gees] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [081227996680]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Jive Talkin'
    2. Night Fever
    3. Tragedy
    4. You Should Be Dancing
    5. Stayin' Alive
    6. How Deep Is Your Love
    7. Love So Right
    8. Too Much Heaven
    9. (Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away
    10. Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)
    11. Warm Ride - (Bonus Track)
    12. Stayin' Alive - (Bonus Track: Promo 12" Version)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. If I Can't Have You
    2. You Stepped Into My Life
    3. Love Me
    4. More Than a Woman
    5. Rest Your Love on Me
    6. Nights on Broadway
    7. Spirits (Having Flown)
    8. Love You Inside Out
    9. Wind of Change
    10. Children of the World
    11. You Should Be Dancing - (Jason Bentley/Philip Steir remix, Bonus Track)
    12. If I Can't Have You - (Count Da Money remix, Bonus Track)
    13. Night Fever - (Future Funk Squad remix, Bonus Track)
    14. How Deep Is Your Love - (Supreme Beings Of Leisure remix, Bonus Track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 071

  • Credits

    The Bee Gees: Maurice Gibb (vocals, guitar, bass); Barry Gibb (vocals, guitar); Robin Gibb (vocals); Alan Kendall (electric & steel guitar); Blue Weaver (keyboards, synthesizer); Dennis Bryon (drums, percussion).
    Additional personnel includes: Albhy Galuten (conductor); Joe Farrell (tenor saxophone); Joe Lala, George Perry, Stephen Stills (percussion); Ray Baretto (congas).
    Boneroo Horns: Bill Purse, Stan Webb, Neil Bonsati, Peter Graves, Whit Sideneer, Kenny Faulk.
    Producers: The Bee Gees, Arif Mardin, Karl Richardson, Albhy Galuten.
    Contrary to popular misconception, the bulk of the material the Bee Gees recorded was not really disco but soul-pop, inspired by the mid-'70s Philly International sound. The group's trademark high harmonies and fluttering falsetto voices lent themselves well to the style; they'd been exploring their variant on American R&B ever since the Otis-intended "To Love Somebody." This compilation concentrates exclusively on songs from the band's reincarnation as dancefloor deities.
    While it's impossibly to divorce such songs as "You Should Be Dancing" and "Stayin' Alive" from a gyrating, hair-sprayed John Travolta, it should be remembered that the music came before the movie, and the Gibb brothers' disco outings are simultaneously classier and more urgent than most. The group really shines on the lovely R&B ballads, the best of which ("How Deep is Your Love," "Too Much Heaven") bear a beauty that's truly transcendent, and could stand proudly alongside any American soul of the period.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.25
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for