CD Labor Days [885686633915] (CD 7044387),
back to browsing

Labor Days [885686633915]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 63391

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Aesop Rock, Illogic, C Rayz Walz.
    Producers: Aesop Rock, Blockhead, Omega One.
    Every once in a while an MC comes along who has the ability to reaffirm listeners' faith in hip-hop as a medium for intelligent, poetic, personal expression. Aesop Rock is one such MC, and LABOR DAYS is his defining statement. A flagship artist of the underground label Def Jux, Aesop Rock brings a style that is blisteringly fast, impossibly dense, and overflowing with metaphors, images, puns, references, and narratives. Rock's voice and attack--a rapid-fire, somewhat nasal monotone--borrows from Kool Keith and Eminem, yet his highly literate rhymes are uniquely his own.
    Aesop Rock's music is the antithesis of flashy, R&B-based commercial hip-hop, and his politically conscious, culturally aware lyrics are galaxies removed from the thug/gangster themes of hardcore rap. Intriguing samples, featuring instruments like flute and sitar, flesh out the beats, but this is lyric-centered hip-hop, and Rock gives us plenty to absorb. Absorbing character-based narratives ("No Regrets") and slicing, alliterative tunes ("Daylight," with its infectious, memorable chorus) are testaments to the rapper's sophisticated lyrical superiority.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (12/00, p.233) - 7 out of 10 - "...Aesop's voice is a rich, flat bass cut with a thin growl....exploring variations within timbre to access a vast emotional range....he purrs contentedly, knowing that his vision will always poke through the haze."
    Entertainment Weekly (9/28/01, p.74) - "...[The] ambient grooves make the Wu-Tang Clan seem tired, while the hyper-enunciated rhymes make KRS ONE sound like a stutterer..." - Rating: A
    Uncut (11/01, p.103) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...An esoteric and gripping ride..."
    Alternative Press (p.104) - "Songs such as 'Labor,' '9-5er's Anthem' and 'Daylight' -- which is considered his best song to date -- reflect on the frustrations and struggles of employment."
    The Wire (1/02, p.40) - Ranked #45 in Wire's "50 Records of the Year 2001".
0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: R&B
  • Label: 63391
  • Distributor: n/a
  • Analog/Digital: DDD
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • Released: 5/3/2011
  • UPC: 885686633915
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.77
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for