CD Last Soul Company (CD 259713),
back to browsing

Last Soul Company

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Looking for My Pig - Haran Griffin
    2. I Can't Go Wrong - Eddie Houston
    3. Red Cross Store - Mississippi Fred McDowell
    4. You Can't Find Love - Betty & Charles
    5. Baby Let Me Kiss You - King Floyd
    6. Mr. & Mrs. Untrue - Mighty Sam
    7. For Old Time Sake - Dorothy Moore
    8. Trouble Blues - McKinley Mitchell
    9. Sweet Life - Fern Kinney/Frederick Knight
    10. Seeing You Again - Ruby Wilson
    11. Night Like This in Georgia - G.C. Cameron
    12. Shade Tree Mechanic - Z.Z. Hill
    13. Pat Time Lover - Formula V
    14. Bad Risk - Latimore
    15. Rock Me - Mosley
    0. DISC 2:
    1. My Dog and Me - Little Milton
    2. You Gotta Hurt Before You Heal - Bobby "Blue" Bland
    3. Still Crazy - Johnnie Taylor
    4. Your Husband Is Cheatin' on Us - Denise LaSalle
    5. I'll Always Love You - The Beat Daddys
    6. Clean Out Your Dresser - Poonanny
    7. Please Don't Let Our Good Thing End - Dorothy Moore/Z.Z. Hill
    8. Man of the House - Artie "Blues Boy" White
    9. Who Is Betty? - Shirley Brown
    10. Hen Pecked - Bobby Rush
    11. Never Ever Let You Go - Tyrone Davis
    12. I've Been Having an Affair - Tonya
    13. Woman in Need - Mel Waiters
    14. Don't Make Me Creep - Stan Mosley
    15. Walk By - Carl Sims
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 230

  • Credits

    Includes liner notes by Rob Bowman.
    Young Mississippi entrepreneurs Tommy Couch and Wolf Stephenson started the Malaco label in the late '60s, and over the decades they amassed an impressive catalog of soul, blues, and gospel, including stellar recordings by unknowns as well as by highly respected artists. THE LAST SOUL COMPANY is an attempt to sum up what Couch and Stephenson have done for the roots music of America's southern region. The breadth of material included on this label retrospective, spanning three decades of music, is nearly as impressive for its diversity as for its high quality.
    The collection moves from the stark, uncompromising blues of Mississippi Fred McDowell to the salacious, funky R&B of King Floyd to the string-laden soul balladry of G.C. Cameron. Malaco never got stuck in the past, so we also get the synth-driven R&B of Formula V and a Z.Z. Hill cut with a drum track that sounds suspiciously electronic, but it's all part of the soulful, idiosyncratic mise-en-scene that is Malaco Records.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.23
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for