CD Ministry of Sound: 80s Groove -- Old Skool Funk Soul Classics [Digipak] (CD 6966245),
back to browsing

Ministry of Sound: 80s Groove -- Old Skool Funk Soul Classics [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Ain't Nobody - Rufus & Chaka Khan/Chaka Khan
    2. Somebody Else's Guy - Jocelyn Brown
    3. Never Too Much - Luther Vandross
    4. Let's Groove - Earth, Wind & Fire
    5. Thinking of You - Sister Sledge
    6. Forget Me Nots - Patrice Rushen
    7. I Want Your Love - Chic
    8. Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now - McFadden & Whitehead
    9. Can You Feel It - The Jacksons
    10. Got to Be Real - Cheryl Lynn
    11. Who's Zoomin' Who? - Aretha Franklin
    12. Automatic - The Pointer Sisters
    13. Love Come Down - Evelyn "Champagne" King
    14. Rising to the Top - Keni Burke
    15. Looking Up to You - Michael Wycoff
    16. For the Love of Money - The O'Jays
    17. I Found Lovin' - The Fatback Band
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Got to Have Your Love [Club Edit] - Mantronix
    2. Last Night a DJ Saved My Life - Indeep
    3. You're the One for Me - D Train/D-Train
    4. I.O.U. - Freeez/Freez
    5. Let the Music Play - Shannon
    6. I Wonder If I Take You Home - Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam
    7. Rockit - Herbie Hancock
    8. Pick Up the Pieces - The Average White Band
    9. Funkin' for Jamaica - Tom Browne
    10. Life on Mars - Dexter Wansel
    11. Don't Let Love Get You Down - Archie Bell & the Drells
    12. (You Are My) All and All - Joyce Sims
    13. Roadblock - Waterman/Aitken/Stock
    14. I Can't Go for That (No Can Do) - Daryl Hall/Hall & Oates/Daryl Hall & John Oates/John Oates
    15. It Takes Two - DJ E-Z Rock/Rob Base
    16. It's Like That - Run-D.M.C.
    17. Can I Kick It [Boilerhouse Mix] - A Tribe Called Quest (remix)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Sexual Healing - Marvin Gaye
    2. Just an Illusion - Imagination
    3. Juicy Fruit - Mtume
    4. Between the Sheets - The Isley Brothers
    5. Don't Let It Go to Your Head - Jean Carn
    6. Nights Over Egypt - The Jones Girls
    7. Fantasy - Earth, Wind & Fire
    8. Shake You Down - Gregory Abbott
    9. Native New Yorker - Odyssey
    10. You Know How to Love Me - Phyllis Hyman
    11. Give Me the Reason - Luther Vandross
    12. Caribbean Queen (No More Love on the Run) - Billy Ocean
    13. Happy - Surface
    14. Roses - Haywoode
    15. How Do You Stop - James Brown
    16. Family Affair
    17. Lovely Day - Bill Withers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 50370

  • Credits

    After branching out from their more familiar dancefloor anthems into chillout, acoustic pop, and R&B, Ministry of Sound's latest compilation covers the funk, soul, disco, and hip-hop sounds of the '80s groove scene. Featuring 51 tracks from artists as diverse as Earth, Wind & Fire, Hall & Oates, and A Tribe Called Quest, it's a comprehensive collection of songs from a genre usually ignored by other retrospectives. There are classic Top Ten singles from Chaka Khan and Rufus, McFadden & Whitehead, and the Jacksons, recently sampled tracks that have been given a new lease on life from Patrice Rushen, Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam, and Shannon, and some rather obscure additions from the likes of Michael Wycoff, Keni Burke, and Mtume. Highlights from the first disc include the powerful gospel vocals of Jocelyn Brown's "Somebody Else's Guy," Sister Sledge's classy string-laden disco ballad "Thinkin' of You," and Luther Vandross' joyously uplifting "Never Too Much." Mantronix's club classic "Got to Have Your Love," Run-D.M.C.'s influential "It's Like That" (the original rather than the Jason Nevins remix), and Indeep's anthemic "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life" provide the standouts for disc two. The sensual soul of Marvin Gaye's "Sexual Healing," Bill Withers' effortlessly summery "Lovely Day," and Sly & the Family Stone's funk-rock standard "Family Affair" are the choice cuts from disc three. 80s Groove showcases the best old-skool urban music from both the U.K. and U.S., and is a refreshing antidote to the countless new wave, electro-pop, and rave albums that usually dominate the decade's nostalgia market. ~ Jon O'Brien

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.91
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for